Mont Blanc in Japan

6 Oct

Do you know Mont Blanc?
It’s the French name of the highest mountain in the European Alps. “Mont Blanc” means “White Mountain”.

Mont Blanc

Did you know that there is a pastry dessert in France called “Mont Blanc“?
This dessert is extremely popular in Japan. It suits Japanese people’s tastes.
In Japan, the dessert is called 「モンブラン」 (“Mon-Blan“), which is probably the way it pronounced in French.

Have you ever tried a 「モンブラン」 (“Mon-Blan“) pastry? It’s a cake made from chestnuts with a whipped cream topping and usually has chestnuts on top. It’s pretty good.

「モンブラン」 ("Mon-Blan") dessert

Well, now Pepsi Japan has another new flavor…「モンブラン」 (“Mon-Blan“). It supposedly tastes similar to the dessert.

Pepsi Japan's newest flavor...「モンブラン」 ("Mont Blanc")

In Japan, Pepsi Cola often releases unusual cola flavors (occasionally Coca-Cola Japan does too).
Click here to read my post about other Pepsi flavors in Japan.

6 Responses to “Mont Blanc in Japan”

  1. osakainsider October 27, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    I didn’t think this flavor was too good. Baobab earlier this year was okay, though.

    Pepsi Mont Blanc

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 28, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      I write a post about “Pepsi Baobab” too.
      Here:

      Japan’s newest Pepsi flavor

      I haven’t tried either Pepsi Baobab nor Pepsi Mont Blanc.
      I don’t drink cola often…and on the rare occasion that I want a cola, I don’t feel like trying a fancy new flavor usually.

      I did try Pepsi Shiso.

      Like

  2. Kevin Crocker October 25, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Just picked this up tonight!

    http://eslkevin.blogspot.com/2010/10/pepsi-mont-blanc.html

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 26, 2010 at 12:39 am #

      I just read your post. I guess you liked this drink.

      I haven’t tried it.

      Like

  3. Casey October 6, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    How could you leave out the fountain pen?

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 7, 2010 at 12:04 am #

      Oh yes, there is a “Mont Blanc” pen company as well.

      This post, though, is about the new “Mont Blanc” drink by Pepsi Japan…I mentioned the dessert in this post because it’s popular in Japan and the drink is supposedly flavored like it.
      And I mentioned the mountain because everything else named “Mont Blanc” is named after the mountain.

      Like

Leave a comment