New drinks

26 Jun

I wrote about Pepsi Japan‘s new drink that they started selling this week called Pepsi Shiso.
(Click here to read it).

I decided to buy a bottle of it today to try it just for the novelty value.

"Pepsi Shiso" on the convenience store shelf.

"Pepsi Shiso" on the convenience store shelf.

I know what シソ (Shiso), the Japanese herb, tastes like. We actually have some growing in my wife’s garden right now.
I like it fine…but the idea of “Shiso flavored cola” seemed very odd to me.

I was right. Pepsi Shiso smells and tastes alot like the herb. As I said, I think Shiso is good…as an herb. But in a cola, I found it unappealing.

I took a couple sips to try it, and gave the rest of the drink to my kids. Even they found it “mediocre”.

I guess we won’t be buying Pepsi Shiso again.

After trying the Pepsi Shiso, I opened my favorite drink…an ice cold beer! (Actually a 発泡酒 (Low-malt beer), which is just as good to me).

Yesterday, I bought a case of Kirin Beer‘s newest offering: 「コクの時間」 (I would’ve translated it as “Wonderful Time“…but it says on the can “Golden Moments“).

kokunojikan

Regardless, the beer was much better than the herb cola! (Actually, a cold beer is better than any other drink! 🙂 )

19 Responses to “New drinks”

  1. bartman905 June 27, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    JapanProbe quoted your review at http://www.japanprobe.com/?p=11062.

    I’ll have to try this one of these days.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 27, 2009 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks for telling me about that.

      If you want to try the Pepsi Shiso drink…don’t wait too long. It’s probably a “limited-time only” gimmick (just like Pepsi Japan‘s other unique flavors were).

      Like

  2. joe June 27, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    i like American Coca-Cola better than any beer… If I had a choice it would be either Pacifico or Warsteiner… both are smooth and great tasting beers =) i think that Icky-Bon beer tastes like PBR aka cheap Amaerican redneck beer… but that’s just my opinion

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 27, 2009 at 11:15 am #

      Actually, Coca-Cola bottled in the U.S. is too sweet! I think the “recipe” is slightly altered in each country for local tastes…because Coke bottled in Japan is less sweet.

      >i think that Icky-Bon beer tastes like PBR aka cheap Amaerican redneck beer

      It took me a minute to figure out what you meant. 😉
      “Icky-Bon” means “Kirin Ichi-ban” beer and “PBR” means the American beer “Pabst Blue Ribbon“…right?

      Do you really think they taste similar? I think “Kirin” is “ichi-ban” (#1). 😉

      Like

  3. cuteandcurls June 27, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    I havent had a cola for a very long time and as for beer ..its been almost 3 months since I drank any

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 27, 2009 at 11:10 am #

      Three months?? (+。+) Too long!

      Like

      • cuteandcurls June 27, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

        I know …ive slowly taken my alcohol again and so far had red wine ..so far so good no bad reactions ^_^ Next month Im going to treat myself to a proper pint of Guiness or maybe John Smith if they have it here or a Strongbow cider.

        Like

  4. cuteandcurls June 26, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    I agree with Tornadoes28 a good beer is always better than cola ^_^ but I’d be very appreciative if its a proper pint of bitter.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 26, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

      I drink beer everyday…but seldom drink a cola.

      Like

  5. Eric Richardville June 26, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    LOL. I don’t think That will hit America anytime soon, but it would be cool to try. I have never had that herb. What does it taste like?

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 26, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

      Haven’t you ever eaten Japanese Sashimi?

      It’s often with Sashimi.

      I’m not sure how to describe the taste. It tastes good though…not in a drink though, in my opinion.

      Like

  6. David June 26, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    About 5 months longer than when you asked me last time 😉

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 26, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

      HAHAHA! Sorry. Didn’t mean to repeat myself.

      So you’ve been in Japan one year this month?

      Getting used to it here?

      Like

      • David July 1, 2009 at 10:02 am #

        Yes, just over a year now, and slowly getting used to it. Life here is quite different to back in Europe.

        Like

      • tokyo5 July 1, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

        I quite used to Japan…actually, Japan just feels normal to me. Other countries…even America, are foreign to me.

        Like

  7. David June 26, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    When I read 「コクの時間」I translated it as “cock time”…

    What does「コク」actually mean? I couldn’t find it on Jisho.org

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 26, 2009 at 10:19 am #

      >What does「コク」actually mean?

      I’d say…something like “tasty”. Or “wonderful taste”.

      >I couldn’t find it on Jisho.org

      It’s not a “real” word.

      How long have you been living in Tokyo, by the way?

      Like

  8. Tornadoes28 June 26, 2009 at 5:10 am #

    A good beer is always better then a cola.

    Like

Leave a comment