Old beer posters

5 Nov

Here are a couple of retro Kirin Beer posters that I saw yesterday at an 居酒屋 (Japanese izakaya restaurant).

taisho15

「大正15年」 (1926) キリンビール (Kirin Beer) poster.

showa11

「昭和10年」 (1935) キリンビール (Kirin Beer) poster.

Compare those with a more modern Japanese beer poster:

4 Responses to “Old beer posters”

  1. thepete November 18, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    Love the right-to-left katakana in the second one. I don’t know why, I just do.

    Like

    • tokyo5 November 18, 2013 at 8:03 am #

      Yeah…「ルービンリキ」! Japanese used to write from right-to-left more often than now. Hardly ever done anymore (occasionally still seen…for example, on the right-side of taxis and commercial vehicles sometimes).

      Can you read Japanese, by the way?

      Like

      • thepete November 18, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

        I read that right-to-left writing hasn’t been generally done since before WWII. But obviously, since you’ve seen it done more recently, that’s why what ever I read said “generally.” 🙂

        I can read kana no problem and know under a hundred kanji well enough to recognize them. But I’d only trust myself with twenty or so if I had to write them. I have not been studying much since I stopped taking classes earlier this year. I need to get back into the habit of daily studying. I’ve had a lot of distractions over the past year with more to come. Both good and bad. I’ll definitely add your blog to my reading list!

        Like

      • tokyo5 November 19, 2013 at 8:53 am #

        >I read that right-to-left writing hasn’t been generally done since before WWII. But obviously, since you’ve seen it done more recently…

        Generally speaking, that way isn’t used anymore. But companies write their name on sides of their vehicles from the front of the vehicle toward the back…so it’s written left-to-right on the car’s left-side, but backwards (right-to-left) on the right-side (driver’s side) sometimes.

        >I can read kana no problem and know under a hundred kanji

        How did you learn? Self-study with a book? Japanese classes?

        >I’ll definitely add your blog to my reading list!

        Thank you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

