Western foods that Japanese people find disgusting…

22 May

Maybe it’s because I’ve lived my entire adult life in Japan, but I prefer bitter chocolate to milk chocolate too.
And I hate licorice and root beer too.
And I have never put soy sauce on rice.

But, it does disappoint me the way Japanese people peel almost all fruit. The skin on a lot fruit is delicious…especially peaches!!

Peeling a peach is blasphemy!

6 Responses to “Western foods that Japanese people find disgusting…”

  1. talentlesskun May 23, 2015 at 11:43 pm #

    Reading this article is strange, as I am an Asian myself (Filipino). In my country we have a similar food to rice pudding, where chocolate syrup and condensed milk is poured over rice. Also in my country (and I assume most asian countries) pouring soy sauce over rice is normally something associated with the poor, as they wouldn’t be able to afford anything else; so for me hearing an “eww rice over soy sauce” feels like something an elitist would say.

    I feel in asian cultures rice is such an everyday thing its not normally tought of something to be respected like in this article, which is why throwing out unfinished rice is somewhat of a problem others want to address.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 24, 2015 at 10:33 am #

      In Japan, even a poor person wouldn’t want soy sauce on rice.
      Almost no one in Japan makes condescending comments towards others based on class or financial situation anyways.

      Like

  2. JapanDavDavid LaSpina May 23, 2015 at 12:54 am #

    My wife used to hate licorice like most Japanese. But then I started having my folks send over a box from trader joes every few months. Now she loves it. Bwah hahah my plan is working perfectly. Next—Root beer!

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 23, 2015 at 11:09 am #

      How can your wife like licorice?
      Does she like the black one too?
      I’m American, but I don’t mind that licorice and root beer aren’t in Japan … don’t miss either at all?

      Like

      • JapanDavDavid LaSpina May 23, 2015 at 12:20 pm #

        Don’t know if she developed a taste for it or just naturally liked it. She wasn’t crazy about it the first time I had her try, but she didn’t hate it either. Now she enjoys it more than I do. Yeah, the black kind, not the red twizzlers which I agree are disgusting (the black twirlers are equally disgusting, actually. Not a good brand). The black licorice Trader Joes carries is a more natural brand with a much better taste. (here is the first google hit I get for it: http://www.mommybknowsbest.com/panda-licorice-review/)

        Yeah I don’t miss either that much myself, to be honest. I enjoy licorice and so ask for it when my parents want to send something, but I could do without it just as well. Nor do I really enjoy soda at all these days. I enjoy the memory of drinking it from my youth more than the actual drink.

        Like

      • tokyo5 May 23, 2015 at 5:16 pm #

        Haha! Yeah, I’ve outgrown my fondness for soft drinks too!

        Like

Leave a comment