Grilled Kit-Kat

24 Jun

Many people now know that Japan has an incredible selection of unique flavors of Kit-Kat.

I wrote a post around five years ago about many of them.

I’ve actually written quite a few posts about Kit-Kat in Japan (click here to see a search of them).

One of the newest, and most unique so far, Kit-Kat flavors in Japan is 焼きキットカット (“Grilled Kit-Kat”) !

yaki-kat

These are meant to be put in a toaster-oven for a couple of minutes to make them toasted brown.

What do you think? Would you try them? Have you tried them already?

16 Responses to “Grilled Kit-Kat”

  1. Mrs Hicks July 30, 2014 at 4:42 pm #

    We bought some of these when we were in Japan earlier this year. I love Japanese KitKats and was really excited to try these. They are amazing. We waited until we were home to try them out. It’s best to keep them in the fridge to make sure that the chocolate is good and firm before grilling them, otherwise the heat from the grill melts it all off. Even grilling from chilled leaves the chocolate very soft and runny – not like the nicely browned creme brulee version on the packaging! You definitely need a spoon. It tasted to me like a cross between creme brulee and tiramisu. I have to exercise extreme self control with Japanese KitKats generally, but with these it would be very easy for me to slip into a KitKat coma from over consumption!

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 31, 2014 at 8:22 am #

      Maybe I’ll try this Kit-Kat one of these days.

      Like

  2. Paul (@BlueKutsu) July 10, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Hey man,

    Yeah, I have been kind of out of the J-blog loop for a while but trying to refocus. I’m glad to see a lot of you guys still at it!

    Anyway, be safe with that storm coming (or has it arrived/passed already?)!

    (And apologies if this double-posts; was having some connectivity issues).

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 11, 2014 at 12:51 am #

      Yeah, I’m still blogging. It’s been over six years so far now!

      Please comment often!

      The typhoon hasn’t passed yet, but it’s not so bad here so far … thankfully!

      Like

  3. Paul (@BlueKutsu) July 4, 2014 at 4:28 am #

    You should do a followup review post after you’ve tried these. =)

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 4, 2014 at 9:03 am #

      It’s been a while since you’ve commented on my blog! Please comment more often!

      If I try one of these Kit-Kat, I’ll write about my opinion of it.

      Like

  4. Boots June 25, 2014 at 1:21 am #

    Wow I’d like to have one!!

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 25, 2014 at 8:07 am #

      You should come to Japan then! 😀

      Like

      • Boots June 25, 2014 at 10:41 am #

        I’d love to! Hopefully in one of these years!

        Like

  5. ddupre315 June 24, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

    I tried them but didn’t toast them and they tasted kinda like a creme brulee. Very good.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 25, 2014 at 8:07 am #

      Why didn’t you toast it?

      Like

      • ddupre315 June 25, 2014 at 8:08 am #

        Didn’t know to do it at the time, I was sharing it with someone at work. haha

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 25, 2014 at 8:09 am #

        You should buy them again and try it “grilled”!

        Like

      • ddupre315 June 25, 2014 at 8:10 am #

        Might do. 🙂

        Like

  6. mikeladano June 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    I would absolutely try them!

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 24, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

      I might try them. Looks like they might be good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

