Tokyo Olympics

8 Sep

Tokyo has been chosen to host the 2020 Summer Olympics!

tokyo2020

The last time Tokyo hosted the Olympics was in 1964.tokyo64

That Olympics was considered a big success. And a lot of changes were made to the city prior to the Games then.

I look forward to seeing what changes are made to Tokyo again now that we will be hosting the Olympics again in seven years.

Have you ever lived in a city that hosted the Olmpics?

What were the pros? And the cons?
Would you consider hosting the Olympics are benefit to the city?

Are you gonna come to Tokyo for the 2020 Olympics?

6 Responses to “Tokyo Olympics”

  1. Biscuit September 10, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    I’m so happy for Tokyo!

    Like

    • tokyo5 September 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      Yes, I hope it’s good for the city.

      Are you in Japan now? Tokyo?
      For how long?
      Will you be here for the Olmpics?

      Like

  2. Anthony September 9, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    I wish I lived in Japan and could do some work during the Olympics. It will be a hassle for the city, especially the delays that construction will bring, but it will also create some great venues for the Olympics, and some really neat changes for the citizens. I just wonder if the prices will go up. I also wonder if they will have even more vending machines on the street.

    Like

    • tokyo5 September 9, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      I’m hoping that more (all?) of the train / subway stations in Tokyo (all of Japan) get platform safety barriers installed!

      That’s important and needed.

      Like

  3. Musings September 8, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Congratulations! We were joking that we would have to tell our Tokyo friend to expect a visit at his home in 7 years. I know we wouldn’t really go because I can imagine how bad the crowds would be.

    Like

    • tokyo5 September 8, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

      Yeah. I’ve seen some of the planned stadiums that will be built here. Tokyo is going to have a lot of changes!

      I’ve heard both that hosting is good for the city…and that it’s not good.
      I hope the former is true!

      The trains here are already crowded enough at rush-hour…

      Like

Leave a comment