Baby Metal

26 Jun

Do you know the Japanese band Baby Metal ?

metal

They are a unique “heavy metal” meets J-pop band that consists of three junior high school girls!
The girls are ages 13, 14, and 15…and they’re not even actually heavy-metal fans. They prefer pop music (as most girls their age do).

Not your typical metal band. And, to be honest, I’m not really a big fan.
But, it is an interesting concept for a band, I have to admit.

If these girls aren’t really “metal heads”, then why are they in a band called “Baby Metal”?

They were in a pop band together but their producer, who is a metal-head had an idea to fuse their music with thrashing guitars and metal growls!

Unsurprisingly, the girls weren’t keen to becoming a heavy-metal band at first. In fact, the youngest member asked “What’s ‘heavy metal’?“. But they say that they’ve warmed up to it and enjoy being a totally unique act…and also being able to act “wild” on stage.

The even do a unique spin on the “metal horns” hand gesture that they call “kitsune” (which means “fox” in Japanese).
The reason, actually, is because on their debut photo-shoot, their producer told them to do the “metal horns” (which they had never seen before)…and they mistook the hand gesture for the one that became their signature hand gesture.

They have songs with titles such as 「イジメ・ダメ・ゼッタイ!」, which means “Absolutely no bullying!” (which, although has a good message, I don’t enjoy much), and 「ヘドバンギャー!!」 (“Headbanger!!”) which is a lot better.

Their newest song, titled 「メギツネ」 (“Female Fox”), is their best so far.

Here is the video for Baby Metal 「メギツネ」 (“Female Fox”):

6 Responses to “Baby Metal”

  1. 2Karl July 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    I love this band.

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 26, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

      They’re interesting … but not really “my cup of tea”.

      I like heavy-metal … but pop music, not so much.

      Like

      • 2Karl July 26, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

        I’m not a huge fan of metal or pop on their own (i’m a little bored of both), but I love the fusion of the two, probably as its so refreshing.

        Like

      • tokyo5 July 26, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

        I don’t think I could get bored of metal.

        I remember when some artists tried mixing metal with rap music … I didn’t like that much either.

        One of daughters likes Baby Metal though … she went to their concert.

        Like

  2. ddupre315 June 27, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Interesting. The vocal is definitely more Pop but the music is pretty heavy. I wouldn’t turn this off but not sure I’d buy a cd. I prefer the visual kei fusion to this one.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 27, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      As for the Japanese Visual-Kei genre, I’d say that X-Japan are the best.

      Like

Leave a comment