Winter beer

19 Oct

I just got a case of Kirin Beer’s latest beer*.
(*Actually, it’s a 発泡酒 (Happoshu) which is a low-malt beer. These are popular because they avoid the high beer tax in Japan and therefore are cheaper. They taste quite the same as “regular” beer, so I like them.)

This new beer is called 「冬麒麟」 (“Winter Kirin“).

It tastes very good. It has a “mild taste” just as it says in the ad.
This is a temporary beer offered by Kirin Beer for this winter season, so if you’re in Japan, I recommend trying a can or two.

(The Kirin Beer Company is named after a mythological dragon-like creature called 「麒麟」 (Kirin)…not a “giraffe” which is also called “kirin” in Japanese but written 「キリン」.)

12 Responses to “Winter beer”

  1. Samual Adams fan October 20, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I like San Adams best.

    Do they sell it in Japan?
    This Winter Beer looks good too!

    Nice blog you got here.

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 20, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

      >I like San Adams best.
      Do they sell it in Japan?

      I guess you mean “Samual Adams Beer”.
      Yes, they sell that beer and many other beers from other countries in Tokyo.

      >This Winter Beer looks good too!

      It is. You should try it if you get a chance.

      >Nice blog you got here.

      Thanks you. Feel free to comment often.

      Like

  2. Cyril Murray Brown, Sr. October 20, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    Budweiser is not exported to many countries where it’s available. The beer is manufactured there. Ireland, for instance.

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 20, 2010 at 2:15 am #

      Yes, you’re right. Budweiser is brewed and canned in Japan locally by Kirin Beer.
      I had forgotten about that. It had been an import beer with a higher price years ago until Kirin Beer purchased the brewing rights for Japan.

      So I guess it’s probably no more expensive here than a Japanese beer.
      I guess I’ll try a Budweiser brewed by Kirin and see how it compares to a Kirin Beer.

      Thanks.

      Like

  3. Cyril Murray Brown, Sr. October 20, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    Interesting enough, Budweiser is popular in other countries. Perhaps not in Japan though.

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 20, 2010 at 2:03 am #

      >Budweiser is popular in other countries

      Really? I was under it wasn’t popular in other countries for the same reason it’s not so popular here—the domestic beers are cheaper (no import tax) and taste better than Budweiser.

      Like

  4. Cyril Murray Brown, Sr. October 19, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Kirin was probably my favorite beer then. I also drank San Miguel, which was on every Army base, Asahi, and one other I can’t recall at this time. The beer was in a bottle with a picture of a dragon(?) on it. Thanks for providing this information.

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 19, 2010 at 2:33 am #

      >Kirin was probably my favorite beer then.

      It is my favorite. Which beer is your favorite now?

      >I also drank San Miguel

      I’m not particularly fond of that one.

      >Asahi

      Asahi Beer is good too.

      >The beer was in a bottle with a picture of a dragon(?) on it.

      The only Japanese beer that has a dragon-like logo is Kirin. Kirin Beer is available in bottles…so maybe it was Kirin.

      >Thanks for providing this information.

      Sure.
      Click here to read my post about Japan’s major brewers.

      Like

  5. gigihawaii October 19, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    I would love to try it, but I hate the metallic taste of a can. I prefer my beer in a bottle. This week, David bought Corona.

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 19, 2010 at 2:27 am #

      Corona’s good. Kirin sells bottled beer too…but I don’t think this particular one is available in bottles though.

      Are Japanese beers popular in Hawaii?

      Like

      • gigihawaii October 19, 2010 at 2:58 am #

        not really. I believe Budweiser is the most popular beer in Hawaii.

        Like

      • tokyo5 October 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

        Budweiser. I’ll drink it if offered to me…but not my first choice.

        Although it’s popular in America, it’s not so popular in other countries.

        Like

Leave a comment