How to improve the World Cup…use binoculars

13 Jun

The 2010 World Cup has begun. The World Cup is the international soccer championship games.

(I wrote this post about a drink Pepsi-Japan released recently in honor of the World Cup.)

I don’t think soccer is a very exciting game. But I remember seeing on TV here about ten or so years ago a soccer game organized by the famous Japanese comedian Beat Takeshi that was much more entertaining than how the game is usually played.

He made all of the players wear binoculars strapped by their faces. It was quite funny. Beat Takeshi always has excellent shows even today.

Of course someone put it on YouTube.

This is how soccer should be played:

10 Responses to “How to improve the World Cup…use binoculars”

  1. Chris June 13, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    That is far more amusing than it should be, as is the fact that I actually know who Beat Takashi is from seeing the movie Battle Royale. What a delightful romp that film is!

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 13, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

      Some of the best TV shows on air here even now are produced by “Beat” Takeshi.

      He’s a big name celebrity here in Japan…and he’s very popular in France too.

      Like

  2. Sir Pent June 13, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Speaking of sports and Japan, I am sitting in bed watching Tom Selleck in Mr. Baseball.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 13, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      I think that movie (Mr. Baseball), “Black Rain” and “The Karate Kid” are better if you understand the nuances of Japanese culture that are shown in those movies.

      Speaking of “The Karate Kid”, I heard the Will Smith remake starring Jackie Chan has hit theaters in America.
      Is that true?

      Like

      • Sir Pent June 14, 2010 at 11:43 am #

        Yes…but I hear rumor that it will be titled Kung Fu Kid overseas. (As Jackie Chan teaches him Kung Fu, not Karate.)

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 14, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

        >I hear rumor that it will be titled Kung Fu Kid overseas.

        From my point of view, “overseas” means “outside Japan”, so that’s what I thought you meant at first. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        But, as you live in America, you mean “outside the U.S.”, I’m sure.

        Anyways, I’m not sure about other countries…but in Japan, many foreign movies are renamed.
        The original “Karate Kid”, for example, is titled ใ€Œใƒ™ใ‚นใƒˆใƒปใ‚ญใƒƒใƒ‰ใ€ (“Best Kid”).
        (I mention it in an earlier post I wrote here).

        Like

  3. pongrocks June 13, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Is that the guy who also hosted the gameshow Takeshi’s Castle? I remember watching it when I was like 8 or so…

    About soccer… well, watching soccer is one thing but playing soccer with a team is really great. If you have never really played soccer it’s hard to understand why it’s so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t watch a lot of soccer either because matches can be quite boring, but I am watching all the matches of mayor events like the world cup.

    I am curious about how Japan will do during the world cup… They definitely have a difficult group. Netherlands will most likely beat them and at least advance to the quarter final in my opinion, so I guess the other place in the eighth final will be decided between Japan and Denmark… That is if Camerun isn’t surprisingly good ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ah, why am I writing this… You aren’t really interested in soccer after all ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 13, 2010 at 11:57 am #

      Yeah, I never played soccer. I grew up in America. Soccer isn’t popular there. There were no soccer teams to join where I lived…nor did anyone play games in parks or anywhere.

      When I was a kid they tried to make soccer popular in America. Pele came to America and a pro soccer league was started.
      They even made changes to suit American tastes…games went into overtime in the event of a tie and there were even cheerleaders!

      I remember my local pro-soccer team was the “Tampa Bay Rowdies” and the cheerleader were the “Wowdies”.
      They shared the stadium of the American football team “Tampa Bay Buccaneers”.

      The Buccaneers are still around but the Rowdies are long gone.

      Soccer just isn’t popular in America.

      Like

  4. gigihawaii June 13, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    HILARIOUS!!!

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 13, 2010 at 2:41 am #

      Yeah I think so too.

      I remember when this first aired on TV years ago…it was so funny! And it still makes me laugh watching it now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

