The “Information Age”

9 Oct

Unlike people my kids’ age or younger, people my age and older grew up before there was an internet. Young people can’t imagine it, but we grew up without telephones in our pockets, without cameras on our person at all times (and when we did carry a camera, we didn’t take photos of things such as what we ate for dinner…because cameras used film with a very limited number of photos)…and we also weren’t under a constant barrage of trivial information.

I’m not saying that I don’t appreciate the internet and modern technology…but I’m glad I grew up in the 「昭和時代」 (period before the ’90s). We can understand and use the internet…but we also know how to get along without it – I’m not in a panic if I forget my cell-phone and I know how to find an address in Japan without “Google Maps“.

I do appreciate Google though!
Today I noticed that the Google logo (in Japan, at least) looks like this:

When I hovered my mouse over it, a caption explaining it was displayed:

It says 「プラハの天文時計 建立 605周年」 which means “The 605th anniversary of the building of the Prague Astronomical Clock

I had never even heard of the “Prague Astronomical Clock” before. In fact, I didn’t even know what an “astronomical clock” was!
But, after the clicked the Google logo, I could read about it.

The clock tower of the 「プラハ天文時計」 (“Prague Astronomical Clock“)

I only read a little bit…but now I kinda understand that an astronomical clock shows the current relative location of the sun, moon and some planets, as well as the current time.
And I learned that the “Prague Astronomical Clock” is the world’s oldest astronomical clock that still works properly! It was built on 1410 October 9th! 605 years ago.

The clock face of the “Prague Astronomical Clock“. I have no idea how to read it!

Since I was kid, I’ve always been interested in monsters (here’s a post I wrote about monsters)…so I like that the Prague Astronomical Clock has “death” ring in each hour!

“Death” ringing in the hour on the Prague Astronomical Clock.

Thanks Google for teaching something new today that I probably never would’ve learned otherwise!

How about you? Have you already known about this clock? Have you seen it (in person)?

4 Responses to “The “Information Age””

  1. laurenF November 13, 2015 at 1:33 am #

    I was able to see the Prague clock in action back in the 90s–it is amazing! Have you also seen the Hayao Miyazaki clock in Tokyo? Here is a link with some info about it.
    If you go to the NTV site link and click on the clock info (2nd floor), it will tell you when you can see it in motion. I was able to see the whole show at noon when I was there last year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tokyo5 November 13, 2015 at 8:19 am #

      >I was able to see the Prague clock in action back in the 90s–it is amazing!

      Really? I’ve never been to Europe.

      >Have you also seen the Hayao Miyazaki clock in Tokyo?

      Yes, of course! 😉

      Like

  2. Steven October 28, 2015 at 3:17 am #

    The astronomical clock was one of my favorite things to see in Prague. Happy birthday to the clock! stevenglassman.com/2012/04/09/easter-weekend-in-prague/

    Like

    • tokyo5 October 28, 2015 at 7:11 am #

      I read your post. Sounds fun! I’d like to see Prague too!
      In Japan, “Prague” is pronounced as “Praha”, so I always assumed that’s how it was pronounced there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

