Ra-mu-ne

30 Apr

Do you know the Japanese soft drink called 「ラムネ」 (Ramune)?

「ラムネ」 (Ramune)

It’s a 炭酸のソフトドリンク (carbonated soft-drink) in a uniquely shaped glass bottle that is sealed with a glass marble.

It comes in a variety of flavors, but the most common flavor is the original lemon flavor.

Ramune is a very popular drink, especially with young people, in the summertime in Japan. It is sold in many places including summer festivals.

One time I saw a store with a sign that said 「まずいラムネランキング」 (The Worst Ramune Flavors).
The #1 worst flavor on the list was 「キムチラムネ」 (Kimchee Ramune)!

「キムチラムネ」 (Kimchee Ramune)

I bought it just to try it. They weren’t kidding! It was disgusting!

Have you ever tried Ramune?

16 Responses to “Ra-mu-ne”

  1. leannenz May 3, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

    Ewww kimuchi ramune!!! Not sure I am brave enough! Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving a comment.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 4, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      Yeah, I recommend avoiding the kimchee ramune!

      Please comment on my blog anytime.

      Like

  2. yt May 1, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

    I love Ramune! I haven’t tried any of the flavored ones though.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 3:08 pm #

      What country do you live in?

      >I haven’t tried any of the flavored ones though.

      I recommend avoiding the Kimchee flavor one!

      Like

      • yt May 1, 2015 at 3:45 pm #

        I grew up with it in Taiwan.

        Like

      • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

        I have heard that Japanese culture has long been popular in Taiwan. Is that accurate?

        Like

  3. laurenf May 1, 2015 at 5:33 am #

    I have recently tried lychee flavor, which I liked a lot. I don’t like soda much, but the fun of the marble rolling around makes it worth the carbonation. I don’t think I have seen any versions at the regular grocery stores, but I may have missed it.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 7:24 am #

      Ramune is easy to find in Japan … especially in summer.

      Like

  4. Nagzilla May 1, 2015 at 12:53 am #

    Have not seen the kimchi flavor (gag!) but ramune is SUPER popular here. You can get it at Asian markets and at anime conventions. Andrea always buys 6-8 bottles when we go to the Asian market. I think she just likes popping the marble and drinking something different. They are definitely not as sweet as pop, which is nice. Not as cloying.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 12:59 am #

      Is Ramune popular in America now? I had never heard of it until I came to Japan.

      Kimuchi isn’t the only unusual flavor … there’s also wasabi, curry and others!

      Like

      • Nagzilla May 1, 2015 at 1:41 am #

        I think it’s only popular with the anime crowd, but I have even found it at the regular grocery store, although there the only two flavors they have are regular and strawberry. At the Asian market and at cons, you can get a much wider variety, including watermelon, pineapple, raspberry (my personal favorite), and kiwi.

        Like

      • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 7:21 am #

        Have you tried many Ramune flavors? I’ve only tried the original … and that kimchee one. I don’t drink anything except water, milk, coffee and beer too often.

        Like

      • Nagzilla May 1, 2015 at 1:41 am #

        Not sure I’d like the curry, though. I love curry, but not as a pop flavor. Blarg.

        Like

      • tokyo5 May 1, 2015 at 7:23 am #

        I like curry. I like kimchee. And I like wasabi.
        But those Ramune flavors aren’t meant to really be good … they were all on the “Worst Ramune Flavors” list.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Masa April 30, 2015 at 5:54 pm #

    I read a history of Ramune and learned it was an English drink and bottle maker. Not sure that’s true and can’t remember where I read it…and also that “ramune” was an old derivative katakana way to spell/pronounce lemonade.

    Like

    • tokyo5 April 30, 2015 at 6:58 pm #

      Yeah, I heard both of those too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

