Xmas Sky Tree

24 Dec

It’s クリスマス・イヴ (Xmas Eve) in Japan now.
My wife and I went to the Tokyo Sky Tree, the world’s tallest tower, which was illuminated in green for Xmas.

image

image

image

image

image

image

メリー・クリスマス (Merry Xmas).

10 Responses to “Xmas Sky Tree”

  1. CrazyChineseFamily December 25, 2014 at 4:04 am #

    As I said before in another article : this looks just so great and so much better than the European towers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CrazyChineseFamily December 25, 2014 at 4:05 am #

      And of course I wish you a Merry Christmas 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • tokyo5 December 25, 2014 at 8:25 am #

        Thank you. You, too.
        Is this your son’s first Xmas?

        What are some unique Xmas customs in your country?

        Like

      • CrazyChineseFamily December 25, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

        I can’t really say anything about weird customs on my area however for example in Europe you celebrate Christmas already on the 24th, so the children get all their presents as well already during evening time on that day opposed to the USA where it is the 25th?

        But I do know of a bit weird custom in the south German speaking areas (I am a North German so I have nothing to do with those strange people 🙂 )
        http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Krampus

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 25, 2014 at 7:54 pm #

        I’ve read about that Krampus before … he’s cooler than Santa Claus!

        Liked by 1 person

    • tokyo5 December 25, 2014 at 8:24 am #

      Yeah, you mentioned that in my post last month when the Sky Tree was lit up orange for autumn:
      https://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/autumn-sky-tree/

      The only European tower I know is the Eiffel Tower…which the Tokyo Tower was modeled after:
      (I wrote about it in this post: ( https://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/06/12/tokyo-sky-tree/ ) in which I also mentioned the Sky Tree before construction of it even started).

      What other European towers are famous?

      Like

      • CrazyChineseFamily December 25, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

        I think all major European cities got on of their standard TV towers such as the Berlin TV Tower
        http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fernsehturm_Berlin

        I didn’t know that the sky tree was modeled after the Eiffel Tower as that one is a particular ugly one 😀

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 25, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

        I’ve never heard of the Berlin Tower. All I know of Berlin is that wall.

        Tokyo Sky Tree isn’t modeled after the Eiffel Tower … the Tokyo Tokyo was.

        Like

      • CrazyChineseFamily December 25, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

        Oh seems like I misread your comment 🙂
        I never really realized that the Tokyo tower resembles the Eiffel tower, but this might be also because of the color difference 🙂

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 26, 2014 at 12:00 am #

        Yeah, when the Tokyo Tower was built, tall structures in Japan had to be painted “International Orange” and white to make them clearly visible to aircraft. Now they just have red lights atop … that’s why the Tokyo Sky Tree and buildings taller than Tokyo Tower aren’t painted that way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

