Burger King Japan’s Whopper Challenge

8 Jun

If you’re in Tokyo and you really … really … love Burger King Whoppers, you can enter their Whopper Challenge.

image

The contest, for those who are chosen to participate, will be held on Thursday, 2014 June 19th at 2PM in the Roppongi branch of Burger King.

Contestants will be given 30 minutes to eat seven Whoppers.

The prize for those who are successful will be free Whopper burgers for a month!

Like I said, it’s for those who really love Whoppers!

14 Responses to “Burger King Japan’s Whopper Challenge”

  1. Musings June 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

    You have got to be kidding me! I can barely eat one! Sheesh! We’ll be going to see the lavender flowers in Hokkaido this summer.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 12, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

      It does sound like an impossible feat to me too!
      Who would want to try to eat that many burgers anyway?!

      Are you coming to visit Japan again? Great!
      Have you been to Hokkaido before?

      Like

  2. mikeladano June 9, 2014 at 12:29 am #

    I could NOT eat seven Whoppers in one day, let alone 30 minutes.

    I really enjoy these posts. I have a fascination with different promotions and menus at fast food chains overseas. It began when I went to Eastern Canada and had a “McLobster” for the first time. I wondered, “What else is there out there?” and I realized that there are all kinds of special burgers in different states, and different countries.

    Like

    • tokyo5 June 9, 2014 at 12:45 am #

      I wouldn’t even try to eat that much fast food!
      I don’t even want the prize!

      I like the Whopper … but not that much!

      And … does Canada McDonalds have a “McLobster” ?

      Do Canadian McDonalds have a “Shamrock Shake” in March like they do in America?

      Like

      • mikeladano June 9, 2014 at 12:47 am #

        I remember Shamrock shakes when I was a kid, but I don’t recall seeing them recently. That could be just because I don’t go to McDonalds that often. They probably still have them.

        I loved the McLobster! They used to be only in eastern Canada and US. Now they have come to Ontario and I had several last summer!

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 9, 2014 at 12:55 am #

        I know this is blasphemy to many people, but … I don’t like lobster so much.
        I wouldn’t order a McLobster sandwich.

        The closest that McDonalds in Japan has is the “Ebi (shrimp) Filet” sandwich. I don’t order that one either.

        Like

      • mikeladano June 9, 2014 at 12:57 am #

        We don’t have that, but I would try it!

        Do you enjoy seafood in general? I would think you’re in heaven for seafood in Japan!

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 9, 2014 at 1:34 am #

        I know it’s not there. It’s one of the many “only-in-Japan” items, like the Teriyaki Burger.

        I do like seafood. I love Japanese food!
        I’m not a picky eater. I will eat lobster and shrimp … but not one of my favorites.

        Like

      • mikeladano June 9, 2014 at 1:36 am #

        Ah I understand. I enjoy sushi. But I am sure what is served here would not be considered very good but standards there. I would go to Japan and enjoy sushi every day, if I could!

        Like

    • tokyo5 June 9, 2014 at 8:32 am #

      Is sushi expensive in Canada?

      There is high-end, expensive sushi here…but sushi “fast-food” places have many pieces that are two for ¥100 (US$1) or so. It’s cheap…but still delicious!

      Like

      • mikeladano June 10, 2014 at 6:17 am #

        Sushi is expensive, but not exceedingly so. Unfortunately there are now places here that are very cheap. All you can eat for $15. They just crank the food out like a factory. Hundreds of people ordering at once.

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 10, 2014 at 7:26 am #

        All-you-can-eat sushi?

        Are other kinds of Japanese food popular there too?

        Like

      • mikeladano June 10, 2014 at 7:48 am #

        Probably not in the way that you would recognize it as Japanese. It would probably be best to say Japanese-Canadian.

        The reason I got interested in trying sushi in the first place was reading George Takei’s autobiography. He wrote about how he used to take all his old Star Trek castmates out to a sushi bar after the shoot. They were afraid to try, but they loved it quickly. I love fish, so I knew I had to try.

        Like

      • tokyo5 June 10, 2014 at 8:48 am #

        > Japanese-Canadian.

        Yeah, I guess every country does that. In Japan, other countries’ cuisines are altered to Japanese tastes.

        >interested in trying sushi…(after) reading George Takei’s autobiography.

        Oh really? That’s interesting!
        How long ago was that?

        The first time that I tried most Japanese food, including sushi, was after I came here.

        Like

Leave a Reply

