Hina-matsuri

3 Mar

Today is 「ひな祭り」 (Hina-matsuri (“Princess (Doll) Festival“)) in Japan.

It’s sometimes still called “Girls’ Day” because families with daughters set-up special elaborate doll displays of Japanese royalty and eat a special sushi dinner.

The city of Katsuura in Chiba Prefecture is known for their huge Hina-matsuri display.

katsuura-hina1

This year’s display could be seen there until today (2014 March 3rd).

chirashi

Even if you can make it to that area to see their big doll display, Katsuura is still a very beautiful place to visit.

katsuura-torii

8 Responses to “Hina-matsuri”

  1. Katie March 4, 2015 at 7:05 pm #

    Thanks for the information on the Hinamatsuri food! I’m not sure if it’s possible for you to be notified of my response on my page so I wanted to mention it here too🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 4, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

      No … I don’t notified about your blog. Thanks for letting me know.

      Like

  2. Katie March 3, 2015 at 4:20 pm #

    Oh wow! Time is flying by. When we moved here before they were 2 & 3. I went shopping today and got a couple of things…posted pictures a little bit ago.

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 4, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      I saw your post. Very nice!

      >Time is flying by.

      Yes! My daughters are already 19, 20 and 21!

      Like

  3. Katie March 2, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

    They’re 9 & 10. Thanks, I’ll look for it tomorrow while out in Ginza🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 3, 2015 at 8:32 am #

      9 & 10! My youngest two were that age when yours were born!😉

      Like

  4. Katie March 1, 2015 at 10:03 pm #

    I’d like to make it there next year…work schedules didn’t cooperate this year. I’ll take the girls out for dinner Tuesday night…it’s a win-win. Celebrate them and I don’t have to cook!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tokyo5 March 2, 2015 at 8:17 am #

      How old are your daughters? You should eat a kind of sushi called “Chirashizushi”…it’s the traditional “Girls Day” meal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

