Do you know what this is?

18 Feb

Here is a symbol that is seen all over Japan:

image

Do you know what it is the symbol for?

Even if you don’t know, why not take a guess?

I’ll give four choices … one is the correct meaning of that symbol.

Leave a comment in this post’s comment section too.

************

Update (2013 Feb 22):

Thirty people have answered the quiz in this post. Thank you very much!

I have decided that I will now reveal the answer.

First, of the thirty answers in the quiz…
24 (80%) answered “Postal“,
3 (10%) answered “Telephone“,
3 (10%) answered “Fire Station“, and
0 (0%) answered “Hot Springs“.

The correct answer is “Postal“.

The 「〒」 symbol can be found on all post offices and public mailboxes in Japan.
It’s also used on letters and post cards to indicate 郵便番号 (zip code).

************

6 Responses to “Do you know what this is?”

  1. Musings February 22, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    Darn! Maybe you’d better remove my last comment. I was going to, but I can’t seem to do it with WordPress.

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 22, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      No, I won’t delete your comment. I appreciate all comments on my blog!

      Anyways, I just updated this post and revealed the correct answer.

      Like

  2. Musings February 22, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    I chose what I did just because I seem to see it on addresses that we mail to.

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 22, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

      So, I guess you chose “Postal”.
      That’s correct.

      Yes, it’s often seen on letters in Japan before the zip-code.

      The 「〒」 symbol is also on public mailboxes and post office buildings in Japan.

      Like

  3. Troo February 19, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    *Leaves answer, ruins it for everyone*

    I would never! 😮

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 19, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      Do you know the answer?

      Thanks for not telling yet.

      I’m gonna post the answer soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

