Japan compared to America…statistically

23 Jul

From the NationMaster website, I found a long list of interesting statistics comparing Japan and America (any countries can be compared on that website…but since I was born in America and have been living in Japan for more than half of my life, I decided to compare those two countries.)

According to that website:

– America has three times as much crime as Japan,
– America has the world’s highest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and Japan has the third (was the second highest until China surpassed Japan recently),
– American school classrooms have an average of 18 students per class, and Japan has an average of 35.
30% of Americans are considered obese but only 3.2% of Japanese are.
– Japan has a 99% literacy rate, America’s is 86%
– America drinks 10 times as many soft drinks as Japan…but Japan drinks 71% more alcohol than America.

9 Responses to “Japan compared to America…statistically”

  1. Mike September 16, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    The strongest drink I have is cherry soda 🙂 I always tell that joke online to people. But I don’t drink any alcohol ever.

    Like

    • tokyo5 September 16, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Why don’t you drink?
      I like alcohol a lot … especially beer!

      Like

    • tokyo5 September 16, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      By the way, I looked at your blog.
      You know Japanese hiragana characters, don’t you?
      Do you know katakana and kanji, too?

      Like

  2. Josh September 8, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Thanks for posting this website, as it is very informative for comparing countries.
    When I was in America, my friends and I would drink, but we usually reserved it for Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Here in Japan, I find that people do not limit their drinking to certain days of the week.

    I actually had this discussion with a Japanese girl that I met in Roppongi last night, and I believe that modes of transportation have a slight impact on the drinking culture in both countries.

    In America, where most drive their own vehicles to and from work, I believe that it limits their ability to join friends for a night of drinking.

    In Japan, the efficiency and ease of taking trains allows many people to go drinking after work on a regular basis.

    I could be wrong, but it is just my thought 🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 September 8, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      That might have something to do with it.

      I have been in Japan for most of my life now, and I’ve only been to the U.S. for a visit four times … so I’m not really used to America anymore.
      I was surprised, the last time I visited, about all rules and stigma that America seems to have for drinking. Alcohol can’t be purchased after midnight and drinking isn’t permitted outdoors there.

      Like

  3. Metal Odyssey August 4, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Wow… the alcohol statistic is a big surprise! I’m not a fan of how people are judged by their weight in society… it seems as if you have to be a walking skeleton nowadays, in order to “not” be considered obese!

    I’ll make a comparison: Japan and the U.S. are… BUDDIES! \m/\m/ Whoa!

    Like

    • tokyo5 August 4, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      Yeah … alcohol is popular here! I was surprised by that statistic too! Do many Americans not drink? I drink beer with dinner everyday.

      Like

  4. Sam July 26, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    Average total years of students in school including higher education.
    14.3 – Japan; 15.2 U.S.

    Citizens in the U.S. are generally 70% more happy than in Japan by lifestyle stats.

    Suicide rate of females in Japan is 2x higher than U.S.

    Gasoline prices are 126% more in Japan than U.S. but the CO2 emissions for U.S. are 4x more than Japan. A correlation maybe? Or perhaps more people need to drive in the U.S. due to lack of public transportation from the sheer size of the U.S.

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 26, 2012 at 7:27 am #

      About the percentage of “happy” people, I think that’s difficult to measure.
      A Japanese person who is just as “happy” as an American would probably be less likely to classify himself as such on a survey than the American person … due to a difference in culture.

      Japan does have a higher suicide rate than many other industrialized countries … that’s unfortunate.
      But the crime rate is very low!

      Gasoline prices are very high here compared to America … but I’ve heard that they’re lower than in England, for example.
      (And I heard that, though Americans consider Japan to be a geographically small country, the English consider it big (relatively).)

      Having a car may be expensive in Tokyo but it just makes the clean, safe, affordable, and punctual public transportation system here all the more appealing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

