Arigato in London

12 Jul

To show gratitude to the people of many countries around the world for supporting and helping Japan in the aftermath of the Great Earthquake in Sendai of 2011 March 11, Japan will host a special event in London, England that will be called “Arigato in London“.

This event will feature many aspects of Japanese culture including photos and a movie of the Earthquake affected area that will also include many Japanese children expressing thanks to people around the world, Japanese food, beer and 日本酒 (Japanese sake alcohol), Japanese tradional games and traditional arts and music.

To allow many people from many different countries to attend, this event will be held in London from 2012 July 28 until August 11 to coincide with the Olympics that London will be hosting then.

Click here to visit the “Arigato in London” website.

10 Responses to “Arigato in London”

  1. Metal Odyssey July 18, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    What a tremendous way for Japan to say “thank you”! Like you, I wish I could see this in the “real” as well.

    I also hope you have been safe during the storms/mudslides/flooding that has hit Japan. I did not stay on top of the news like I should have… I was traveling this past weekend into Monday.

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 18, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks.

      The flooding is terrible … but far from Tokyo, so we’re fine.

      Like

  2. NRIGirl July 17, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    Greeting! First time here, visiting from Gigi’s blog. I must say I have a soft corrner for Japan as my brother lived there for about two years and had his first born there. My family who had visited there during that time had the best experience ever. Lot of help they had from a translation agency.

    My station has arrived. Will be back to read more. Will follow.

    Regards,
    NRIGirl

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 17, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Did your brother live in Japan for awhile? Which part? Tokyo?

      Were you among his family members that visited here?

      Did you comment on my blog during your train commute?
      That’s funny because I’m on the train right now replying to your comment!

      Like

      • NRIGirl July 17, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

        Delight had rented near Tokyo area – the exact name skips my mind.

        My Mom and sister had visited him. Unfortnately we couldn’t join them.

        That’s funny. Commuting is about the only time I get to read blogs. I work in NYC which is an hour commute by bus/train from where I live.

        Nice to connect with you. Good day!

        Like

      • tokyo5 July 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

        My train commute is only thirty minutes, but with a smartphone it’s a convenient time to reply to emails and blog comments.

        Like

  3. Kay's Musings July 14, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Sounds like this will be a very exciting, heart warming event.

    Like

    • tokyo5 July 14, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Yeah … too bad I won’t be able to see it!

      Like

  4. gigihawaii July 13, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    I heard yesterday that the baby panda has died of pneumonia. Too bad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

