Superman renounced his U.S. citizenship

30 Apr

My previous post was about an American university professor who intends to give up his American citizenship and become a naturalized Japanese.
(Click here to read it.)

Well, I just read online that one of the most iconic fictional characters in American pop-culture has just renounced his U.S. citizenship.

In the Action Comics #900 issue (2011 April), which has a cover price of US$5.99 (about ¥486) by the way, Superman announces his plan to give up his American citizenship.

From Action Comics #900

12 Responses to “Superman renounced his U.S. citizenship”

  1. musings May 2, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m thinking the comic writers did this to generate the kind of response it has generated. I saw the tail end of a news report about this yesterday, but didn’t know what it was about. It certainly got a lot of publicity.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 2, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      >It certainly got a lot of publicity.

      Was this big news in America?

      Like

  2. Matthew Hibbard May 1, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I read your post here and thought you shared some valuable information. I can’t believe Superman, the man who symbolized the American way for so long, is now renouncing his place of origin. Now I know Superman is technically not American (he’s not even human), but this is a pretty big slap in the face for Americans’ pride.

    I want to share with you a Newsy video that talks about this more. I was wondering if you could embed this video underneath the entry you already have on your site.

    Here is the link to the video.

    Newsy is the only video news analyzer. Their short videos can be viewed on the Internet, on most Android cell phones, the iPhone and even the iPad.

    If you have any questions please let me know. Have a great rest of your weekend.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      >you shared some valuable information.

      Thank you.

      >this is a pretty big slap in the face for Americans’ pride.

      I would’ve thought that the comic writers would have considered that many Americans would take offense at having Superman renounce his citizenship.

      >I was wondering if you could embed this video

      I wasn’t able to embed it but I added the link to it in your comment above.

      Like

  3. Blue Shoe May 1, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I agree with you guys. But this seems to be the trend these days. G.I. Joe went from American to an international peacekeeping force, and I heard they’re toning down Captain America, too.

    Interesting – I just rented the movie versions of Ge Ge Ge and DMC. DMC was interesting; haven’t watched the other yet. I read Darling, too, btw. Good manga for Japanese study.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      >G.I. Joe went from American to an international peacekeeping force

      So, “G.I. Joe” lost his American “citizenship” too?

      >I just rented the movie versions of Ge Ge Ge and DMC.

      I watched those movies in the theater.

      >Good manga for Japanese study.

      I like Doraemon for that purpose too.

      Like

  4. AstroNerdBoy April 30, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    This is the work of writers interested in a certain political agenda which states that the U.S. is the root of ALL evil and must be taken down. Its stuff like this that make me glad I left comic books for manga years ago.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      I’ve never been a huge comics or manga fan.
      I do have a few though.

      When I was a kid I had the “Superman vs Muhammad Ali” issue, and I had a few “Incredible Hulk” comics (because I liked the ’70s “Incredible Hulk” TV show) and a couple “Batman” comics (because I was also of fan of the cheesy ’70s “Batman And Robin” TV show when I was a kid), and of course I had the ’70s KISS comic book.

      In the ’80s, as a teenager I bought a few issues of “Judge Dredd” (because Anthrax recommended it in the liner notes of their “Among The Living” album).

      More recently I bought the KISS “Psycho Circus” comics.

      I still have the Judge Dredd and Psycho Circus comics…but unfortunately the ones I had from the ’70s (that would actually be worth some money now, I think) have been lost.

      I also have a few Japanese manga (such as “Ge-ge-ge-no-Kitaro”, “Detroit Metal City”, “Chibi Maruko”, “Darling wa Gaikokujin”, etc)…in Japanese. I have these for the purpose of Japanese reading practice.

      Which manga do you have?

      Like

      • AstroNerdBoy May 2, 2011 at 9:01 am #

        Too many manga to name, but my favorite by far is “Negima!” That’s the one manga I buy both in Japanese AND in English. ^_^ I also am a big fan of “Hayate the Combat Butler” for its wacky humor. I recently got into “Fairy Tail” though it doesn’t writing on the par of Akamatsu-sensei’s “Negimai” but it is a fun action read.

        Like

      • tokyo5 May 2, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

        >both in Japanese AND in English.

        Can you read Japanese?

        Like

  5. Blue Shoe April 30, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Weird. What do you think about it?

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 1, 2011 at 12:49 am #

      I think it’s a mistake for the writers to do this. It will alienate many Superman fans, I think. Even outside of the U.S. many people think of Superman as an American character.

      Like

Leave a Reply

