Is my music collection considered “oldies” now?

18 Feb

In 1986, when I was sixteen years old, if you had asked me my opinion of music that was released twenty-five prior to that (in 1961)…music by artists such as Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Ray Charles and Chuck Berry was popular at that time…I wasn’t interested in that type of music and I probably would of considered it “ancient”.

It’s now 2011 and 1986 is now twenty-five years in the past!
My taste in music hasn’t changed at all. I still listen to the same great albums that I bought in the ’80s.
My I-pod has a number of albums from 1986.

Look at this list of albums that are now twenty-five years old (listed here in order of release). You can’t deny that they’re all excellent…much better than most of the forgettable “music” that is released today:

  • Black Sabbath “Seventh Star” 
  • Ozzy Osbourne “The Ultimate Sin
  • Metallica “Master Of Puppets
  • Van Halen “5150
  • Judas Priest “Turbo”
  • AC/DC “Who Made Who
  • Savatage “Fight For The Rock
  • Loudness “Lightning Strikes
  • Great White “Shot In The Dark
  • Iron Maiden “Somewhere In Time
  • W.A.S.P. “Inside The Electric Circus
  • KiLLeR DWaRfS “Stand Tall

Have you heard any of these albums? What do you think of them?
As for me, even though they’re twenty-five years old now…and nearly every one of these bands have better albums in their catalog (except Metallica—“Master Of Puppets” is legend!…these albums still stand the test of time!

21 Responses to “Is my music collection considered “oldies” now?”

  1. jeff77 May 25, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    The heavy metal of the eighties is just as vital to me as ever. I love the music itself, as well as the nostalgia factor associated with it. I listen to eighties metal every day. Not to bash today’s music, but I just don’t get the same buzz as I do when I blast the old stuff.

    Like

    • tokyo5 May 25, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Exactly! There is no music that can come close to metal!

      But one “recent” band that I do like is Avenged Sevenfold. What do you think of them?

      Like

  2. Al March 14, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I’m pretty sure I have listened to every one of these albums. Few I still like however. Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, and old Loudness still get regular play on my ipod. That was the last good Metallica album IMO.

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 14, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      >I’m pretty sure I have listened to every one of these albums.

      I still own them all.

      >Few I still like however.

      Each of these bands, except Metallica, has much better music in their catalogs…but these are still excellent albums.

      >That was the last good Metallica album IMO.

      The first three Metallica albums are masterpieces and “Master Of Puppets” is their best album…but not last good one, I think. “…And Justice For All” and the infamous black album are great too. But every album they released after that aren’t good and each was worse than the one before!

      Like

  3. metalodyssey February 19, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    As long as Keith Richards, Jerry Lee Lewis and Tom Jones keep making new albums, heck, we 80’s dudes are NOT old! 🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 20, 2011 at 1:31 am #

      >Jerry Lee Lewis…keep making new albums

      Is he still making music?

      >we 80′s dudes are NOT old!

      That’s right!

      Like

      • metalodyssey February 20, 2011 at 2:05 am #

        Jerry Lee Lewis is alive and well… he released a brand new album in 2010 too – “Mean Old Man”. I wrote about it being released:

        http://metalodyssey.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/jerry-lee-lewis-happy-birthday-from-metal-odyssey/

        Like

      • tokyo5 February 20, 2011 at 3:14 am #

        I never imagined that The Misfits would cover a Jerry Lee Lewis song (as you mentioned in that post)!

        Like

      • metalodyssey February 20, 2011 at 7:09 am #

        tokyo5 :
        I never imagined that The Misfits would cover a Jerry Lee Lewis song (as you mentioned in that post)!

        That “Project 1950” album by the Misfits is so good, it’s an all-time favorite of mine. This is not the same sound/style of the Glenn Danzig fronted Misfits from decades ago… I think you would dig this Misfits album a great deal. 😉

        Like

      • tokyo5 February 20, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

        >I think you would dig this Misfits album a great deal.

        I’ll see if I can find it then.
        Thanks.

        Like

  4. Tornadoes28 February 19, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    I am the same as you. I wouldn’t call them oldies because oldies really still refers to music of the 50s and 60s. But music from the 80s probably has the same old feeling to young people today that “oldies” had for us. Man we are old aren’t we?

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 19, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      >music from the 80s probably has the same old feeling to young people today that “oldies” had for us.

      Well, I never saw that coming. 😉

      >Man we are old aren’t we?

      Please refer to the comment that I wrote to Stone. 😉

      Like

      • Tornadoes28 February 19, 2011 at 2:20 am #

        I can never consider kick ass music from Metallica and Ozzy as “oldies”.

        Like

      • tokyo5 February 19, 2011 at 2:26 am #

        >I can never consider kick ass music from Metallica and Ozzy as “oldies”.

        That’s a fact.

        Like

  5. metalodyssey February 19, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    This is so funny, today I found a “search engine term” on my dashboard that read: “old heavy metal music” (!) Can you believe it? And then I see this post you wrote!! These are all excellent albums you have from 1986. “Seventh Star” is grossly underrated, as well as “Somewhere In Time”. To the best of my knowledge, “The Ultimate Sin” is out of print… it is the only Ozzy album not to get reissued in recent times. I have it on CD from years past, (thank goodness). Savatage “Fight For The Rock” was quite commercial for them, still I admire this album.

    Excellent post… and NO these are not “oldies”… they are 100% GOODIES!! 🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 19, 2011 at 2:06 am #

      >a “search engine term” on my dashboard that read: “old heavy metal music”

      So, someone found your blog by Googlingold heavy metal music”?

      Well, maybe the music we listen has become “old”…but that just shows how quality and timeless this music is, that legions of fans still listen to the albums. Unlike “one-hit-wonder” pop bands!

      >Can you believe it?

      What a coincidence!

      >“The Ultimate Sin” is out of print…

      I heard that Ozzy had it removed from his catalog because of legal disputes with Phil Soussan who played bass on that album.

      >I have it on CD from years past

      Me, too. I have it on CD and cassette(!)

      >Savatage “Fight For The Rock”

      Savatage are from the part of Florida where I grew up. And so is Gary Smith, the airbrush artist who painted so many of Savatage’s album covers. Gary’s truck with his artwork painted all over it could be seen driving the streets.

      >Excellent post…

      Thanks.

      Like

  6. RattRocker February 18, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    I don’t consider it oldies. To me oldies can’t sound so heavy and energetic, there is just something about the word “oldies” that makes me thing of pre-late ’60s music. This music sounds too young still for me to consider it oldies, but maybe it is because I like this music. I know that a lot of teens consider anything before the 2000’s as old and some of them don’t realize that some of the bands they like were around before then.

    Like

    • tokyo5 February 19, 2011 at 12:06 am #

      >I don’t consider it oldies

      I hope the music I listen to isn’t considered “oldies”. Like you said, I can’t imagine heavy metal as “oldies” music. I also think of my parents’ generation’s music as “oldies”…but that may be because I grew up in the ’80s.

      >but maybe it is because I like this music.

      That probably has a lot to do with it.

      >a lot of teens consider anything before the 2000′s as old

      I think that people who listen to “Top-40” pop music consider a song “old” when it’s only a year old.

      Like

    • metalodyssey February 19, 2011 at 1:10 am #

      You are one cool “young Metalhead” that gets it. 🙂

      Like

      • metalodyssey February 19, 2011 at 1:12 am #

        I’m referring to Ratt Rocker with “one cool young metalhead”. You and me are just cool “old metalheads”. 😉

        Like

      • tokyo5 February 19, 2011 at 2:09 am #

        >I’m referring to Ratt Rocker (as) “one cool young metalhead”.

        I assumed so.

        >You and me are just cool “old metalheads”.

        Like Bon Jovi said…”not old, just older!”

        Like

Leave a Reply

