300,000 hits and 1000 beer

17 Mar

I started this blog almost exactly two years ago.
It didn’t get many visitors at first…but the number has steadily climbed.

After eighteen months, my blog got 100,000 hits.

It was only four months from that point to reach 200,000 hits.

But currently this blog gets an average of over 1,500 hits a day. It took only two months to get another hundred-thousand hits. My blog reached 300,000 hits today.

So, thank you to everyone that reads my blog posts, especially those that comment.
Please continue…it’s the feedback that make blogging enjoyable.

——————–

Kirin Beer released 「キリン・サウザン」 (“Kirin 1000 (thousand))“) beer yesterday.

Ad for "Kirin 1000" beer.

Kirin 1000 beer is actually a 「発泡酒」 (low-malt beer) which are much cheaper than “real” beer because there’s no beer tax added to their price.
Some people don’t like 「発泡酒」 (low-malt beer). I don’t know why…they taste good to me. Any type of cold beer (except “lite”, “diet” or “non-alcohol” beers) are good to me. 😉

Kirin 1000 got it’s name because it’s made with “hard water” container 1000 mg of magnesium per liter of water.

I haven’t tried this beer yet. I just bought a case of Suntory 「金麦」 (“Kinmugi”) beer (in the special “spring season” cans decorated with sakura).

Ad for Suntory 「金麦」 beer 2010 spring edition with sakura design.

This beer doesn’t taste any different than it always has…the cans just have a sakura design added to them.
(It’s a good beer at a good price either way).

Anyways, once my case of Suntory is gone, maybe I’ll choose Kirin 1000 next.

26 Responses to “300,000 hits and 1000 beer”

  1. teo4dora April 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    i love to read your posts about japan because it’s very different from my own country, Romania. so keep it up and congratulations on your site achievement.

    Like

    • tokyo5 April 20, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      Thank you.

      And you should write a blog describing Romania. I’m sure it would be interesting!

      Like

  2. yuliana March 30, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Great achievement.
    Congratulations.

    Like

  3. bartman905 March 19, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Congratulations on reaching 300k hits – that’s quite a milestone and proves how interesting your blog is!

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 19, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

      Thanks very much.

      You have been a visitor to my site almost since I started it. Thank you.

      I checked your site daily. It’s interesting to see how much better you know Tokyo since you’ve arrived here.

      Like

      • bartman905 March 20, 2010 at 10:08 am #

        I forgot to mention that I had a couple of beers (I had Asahi Premium) and toasted your site’s success – I know how much you like beer 🙂

        Like

      • tokyo5 March 20, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

        Did you really? Thank you. (And I do like beer!)

        Like

  4. Eva March 19, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Congrats on ur 300,000 hits! Actually I started browsing your blog when I planned for my trip last Feb (I was googling for Hakone or Little Prince Museum, I think, then it linked to your blog). Since then I’ve been following your blog! It’s full of information and FUN! Keep it up :)加油 (kambatte in Chinese)

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 19, 2010 at 1:28 am #

      >Congrats on ur 300,000 hits!

      Thank you.

      > I’ve been following your blog!

      Thanks. Please continue!

      > 加油 (kambatte in Chinese)

      Is it pronounced “Kambatte” in Chinese? Does it mean the same as “Ganbatte” in Japanese?

      That kanji doesn’t have meaning in Japanese…but looks like it would mean “Add oil”.
      Maybe you already know…but in Japanese “Good luck” / “Keep it up” is usually written as 「ガンバッテ」…but can be written 「頑張って」.
      Does that kanji have meaning in Chinese?

      Like

      • Eva March 19, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

        You are right, it should be Ganbatte….but don’t know why for some reason, ppl usually rite Kambatte..or maybe it’s only me….:)

        加油 does mean add oil. But we also use it to say Keep it up.

        頑張 – I don’t think this means anything in Chinese, but 頑 usually followed by 固 which means stubborn or 皮 which means naughty

        As for 張, mostly used as last name for eg. 張學友(Jacky Cheung – famous HK singer)

        Like

      • tokyo5 March 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

        It’s kinda confusing.

        So…to say “Good luck” in Chinese is “Ganbatte“? The same word as in Japanese? Just written differently?

        Ganbatte” doesn’t sound Chinese at all.
        And the 「って」 (–tte) ending is uniquely Japanese, I believe.

        Like

      • Eva March 21, 2010 at 10:00 am #

        No..it’s still 加油 in Chinese. But as more and more ppl learning Japanese as a language as well as watching the dorama…we also used the word “Ganbatte”. Most ppl who learn Japanese should have it spelled correctly. I did learn Japanese as a language for a while, but mostly heard it in Japanese dorama..so the hearing did affect the spelling…:)

        Like

      • tokyo5 March 21, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

        Do many Chinese people study the Japanese language?

        Which Japanese TV dramas are popular there?

        Like

  5. Tornadoes28 March 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    None near me. Don’t wanna deal with the drunks either. I just enjoy a beer here at home listening to some Disturbed.

    “Drinking is a very popular part of social life in Japan.”

    Got that right.

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      I seldom go out to drink anymore either. Just a beer or two every evening with dinner.

      The only green drink I had this St. Patricks Day was お茶 (Japanese Green Tea). 😉

      Like

  6. Tornadoes28 March 18, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Speaking of drinking, I think I’ll have a fine Guinness right now. Seems appropriate. 🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Oh, that’s right. It’s St. Patricks Day.

      In Tokyo and Yokohama, they have St. Patricks Day parades and sell green beer.

      I went to the one in Tokyo a few years ago and tried a green beer.

      Like

    • Tornadoes28 March 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      You know, I’ve never actually had green beer.

      Like

      • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

        Do the have an Irish bar near you?
        If you go there on or near St. Patricks Day, I’m sure they’ll have green beer.

        It’s not special though. Tastes like regular lager…but leaves your mouth dyed green.
        Once was enough of that for me!

        Like

  7. Metal Misfit March 18, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    CONGRATS on 300k! My music blog isn’t even close to breaking 100k yet… I guess there’s not much of a market for ’80s rock/metal bands! 😀

    As for the beer. I don’t have much to add. I don’t drink. 😉

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      >CONGRATS on 300k!

      Thanks.

      >My music blog isn’t even close to breaking 100k yet…

      When did you start your blog?

      >I guess there’s not much of a market for ’80s rock/metal bands!

      Well, I like you site a lot! I visit it daily.
      You’re young but you know about the music I grew up listening to better than I do!

      >I don’t drink.

      Why? Don’t like the taste?

      Like

      • Metal Misfit March 18, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

        I started the blog in February 2008. The last few months have picked up in traffic though. Thanks for the kind words about it.

        As for beer and any alcohol in general, I’ve just never had any interest in it. I don’t preach against it but I don’t condone it either.

        Like

      • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

        So we started our blogs around the same time.
        I started this one in March 2008…two years ago this month.

        >beer and any alcohol in general, I’ve just never had any interest in it

        Drinking is a very popular part of social life in Japan.

        Like

  8. Tornadoes28 March 18, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I’ve been hitting you pretty often. 🙂

    Congratulations.

    Like

    • tokyo5 March 18, 2010 at 12:27 am #

      And you comment often too.

      Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

