My guest post

17 Jan

I was asked by the owners of a blog if I’d write a “guest post” for their blog.

They’re an American couple who recently came to Japan.

So I just wrote a post for their blog about Japanese baths (they’re much better than American style baths).

Please read the post I wrote for their blog.

Click here to read it.

After you’ve read it, tell me in this post’s comment section what you thought of it.

20 Responses to “My guest post”

  1. Tornadoes28 January 22, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Disney in California is a little smaller than Florida and I believe Tokyo Disney. Certain things like the castle are a bit smaller in Cali. But Cali just seems more intimate. The landscaping and the walkways and the different entertainment zones just seem cozier and more pleasant at Cali Disney. In Tokyo, there were much larger open areas that were just concrete and a bit harsh. Not as pleasant to me. It was interesting and fun but not as nice.

    It used to be that there was only the one Disney park at California Disney but about 7 or 8 years ago they opened a second park right next door called California Adventure plus an entertainment complex between the two parks called Downtown Disney and a couple of new Disney Hotels right there so it is really much more of a complete resort now versus previously when it was just one amusement park. Plus now they are in the process of expanding the California Adventure park even more with more attractions. And there is talk of a third park eventually next to the current two.

    I have never been to Florida Disney.

    I knew that the Disney resorts were owned by a Japanese company but of course they have to pay to Disney Company annual licensing fees and probably other profit sharing agreements as well.

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 22, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

      I’ve only ever been to Tokyo Disneyland and Tokyo DisneySea and Disney World in Florida.
      So I can’t say about the California Disneyland…but Tokyo Disney is very similar to Florida’s Disney, as far as I remember.

      Like

  2. Tornadoes28 January 21, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Hahaha. Good night.

    And yes, we would probably go to DisneySea.

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 22, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Have you been to Tokyo DisneySea before?

      Like

      • Tornadoes28 January 22, 2010 at 1:02 am #

        No, I went to Tokyo Disneyland which was ok . I actually like California’s Disney better. I wish I had gone to Disney Sea instead.

        Like

      • tokyo5 January 22, 2010 at 1:20 am #

        Are they different? Tokyo Disneyland seems just like Florida Disney World to me.

        Granted, the last time I went to Disney World in Florida was many years ago.

        How are they different?

        Tokyo Disney Resort is the only Disney park(s) in the world not owned by the Disney Company….it’s owned by a Japanese company.

        It’s also the most profitable of all the Disney parks in the world.

        Like

  3. Tornadoes28 January 21, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    I will be 40 later this year. I visit often my in-laws in rural small town Tochigi.

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 21, 2010 at 1:47 am #

      Tochigi? Near Nikko?
      I’m sure you’ve made the trip down to Tokyo at least once while you were in Tochigi…right?

      Like

      • Tornadoes28 January 21, 2010 at 1:50 am #

        I have been to Tokyo several times via the Shinkansen but not the last few trips due to having two small children with us. When they get a bit older we may make the trip again such as to Disneyland (which I have been to before they were born).

        You’re up late tonight.

        Like

      • tokyo5 January 21, 2010 at 1:56 am #

        You should take your kids to Tokyo DisneySea, instead of Tokyo Disneyland…since you live near California Disneyland.

        And I’m going to bed now.

        Like

  4. Tornadoes28 January 21, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    Hey, we’re about the same age. The first time I visited Japan was in 2002. I returned 7 more time and I still love visiting.

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 21, 2010 at 1:27 am #

      Are you 40 too?
      I can’t believe I’m 40 now! Time flies!

      So you came to Japan in 2002…I had been here twelve years by that point.
      There was already cell-phones, internet, etc in 2002…Japan was so different in the early ’90s!

      Like

  5. Tornadoes28 January 20, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    Good post. I did not realize that you have been in Japan since 1990. That’s a long time.

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 21, 2010 at 12:52 am #

      >Good post.

      Thank you.

      >I did not realize that you have been in Japan since 1990.

      Really? I wrote it on my “About Me” page…
      https://tokyo5.wordpress.com/about/

      Like

      • Tornadoes28 January 21, 2010 at 12:55 am #

        I have a bad memory. 🙂

        So 20 year anniversary eh?

        Like

      • tokyo5 January 21, 2010 at 1:02 am #

        Yes, half my life this year.

        I came to Japan when I was twenty years old…twenty years ago.

        Like

  6. Sir Pent January 19, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Well…they’d stare at me. *wink-wink nudge-nudge*

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 20, 2010 at 12:00 am #

      I see. Jealousy then. 😉

      Like

  7. Sir Pent January 18, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Interesting. At first I was grossed out a little…but then it dawned on me, it’s just like a public pool or a public hot tub. (I don’t know about the nudity though…)

    Like

    • tokyo5 January 18, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

      >I don’t know about the nudity though

      Western culture’s not used to it…but in Japan it’s not a issue. No one stares at you or anything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

