I saw the Meiji train

29 Nov

It’s not such a big deal but I rode the 「山の手線」 (Yamanote Train Line) yesterday and I finally saw a Yamanote Line train that was painted brown and decorated with Meiji Chocolate ads to commemorate the 100th anniversary of both the Yamanote Line and Meiji Chocolate.

I wrote a post about these special trains when they debuted (click here to see it).

I was glad that I was finally able to see one of these trains because they will only run until next Friday (2009 December 4)!
Unfortunately though, I didn’t have my camera with me…so I was only able to take a photo of it with my cell-phone.

Here’s the photo I took:

20 Responses to “I saw the Meiji train”

  1. jaydeejapan December 12, 2009 at 1:15 am #

    I rode on one of these quite a while ago. I knew about them, but I was surprised when I saw one come into the station.

    Like

    • tokyo5 December 12, 2009 at 1:35 am #

      It couldn’t have been that long ago.
      They only ran this brown train from last September until last week.

      Like

      • jaydeejapan December 14, 2009 at 1:36 am #

        September was quite a while ago 🙂 It feels that way.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 14, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

        I saw on your blog that you’ve been in Japan since 2005.

        How long do you plan to stay in Japan?

        Like

      • jaydeejapan December 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm #

        At the moment, I have no plans to leave Japan, except for overseas holidays. Enjoying life here too much.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 15, 2009 at 12:34 am #

        How often do you go overseas?

        I’ve only visited America a couple times in nearly twenty years. It’s too expensive…especially for five people!

        Like

      • jaydeejapan December 16, 2009 at 2:12 am #

        Once a year only. That’s to Canada. It is expensive, but I live alone and I can afford it.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 16, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

        Once a year? When? X-mas?

        Like

      • jaydeejapan December 16, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

        Yeah, at Christmas. It’s awfully cold when I go there.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 16, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

        Tokyo winter is cold enough for me…

        I guess you’re going back to Canada soon then.

        Like

      • jaydeejapan December 17, 2009 at 11:33 pm #

        I’ll be going on Sunday and back 2 weeks later.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 17, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

        Have a good time!

        How long is the flight? Thirteen hours?

        Like

      • jaydeejapan December 18, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

        Thanks. It’ll be about 10 hours to Canada, a short layover, then a 1 3/4 hour flight. On the way back to Japan, it’ll be 13 hours.

        Like

      • tokyo5 December 18, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

        Yeah, I remember…I flew back to the east coast of America a couple times and it took about that long.

        Like

  2. Jin December 9, 2009 at 2:11 am #

    Yes! I rode it too, even though I hardly ever use the Yamanote Line. If I had known it was a rare occasion, I would have reached for my camera too.

    Like

    • tokyo5 December 10, 2009 at 3:29 am #

      Yeah, you should’ve taken a photo because this special Yamanote Line train ran only until last week.

      Like

  3. bartman905 December 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh no, two more days left – I haven’t seen or ridden this yet (maybe I don’t ride the Yamanote Line often enough).

    I guess I’ll just have to eat a Meiji chocolate bar instead 🙂

    Like

    • tokyo5 December 3, 2009 at 12:36 am #

      I don’t eat much junk food…but I’ll recommend the bitter chocolate.

      Like

  4. Dad November 30, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    Why will the trains only run until next Friday?
    Is it because of the advertisement only running for a limited time?

    Like

    • tokyo5 November 30, 2009 at 11:19 am #

      Yes, that’s right. It’s basically a big ad for Meiji Chocolate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

