The World’s Busiest Train Station

20 Jun

新宿駅 (Shinjuku Station), in Tokyo, Japan, is the busiest train station in the world.

Shinjuku Train Station was built in 1885 and currently services over 3.5 million commuters daily!

For comparison, there are about 3 million people in the U.S. city of Chicago, and the entire population of the country of Singapore is about 4 million.

Japan’s population is 120 million…and 10% of the country’s population lives in Tokyo.

Shinjuku Station is huge. Besides all of the train and subway lines, it also has bus and taxi stops and it’s own shopping center (of course, alot of train stations in Japan have shopping centers, though).

To help you understand how large it is…Shinjuku Station has over 200 exits!

The area called 新宿 (Shinjuku) is a large, popular section of Tokyo. It is said that Shinjuku was the inspiration for the ’80s Hollywood movie “Blade Runner” (Starring Harrison Ford).

It’s a huge town full of skyscrapers and neon. I like it!

Here’s a video I took of one of the exits of Shinjuku Station on a weekday morning recently:

5 Responses to “The World’s Busiest Train Station”

  1. tokyo5 July 5, 2008 at 1:17 am #

    Thanks for commenting and the kind words!

    How long have you lived in Tokyo?

    I guess I’m used to commuting in Tokyo…I don’t really “dodge” people in crowded places—just “go with the flow”!

    Thanks again…
    and feel free to comment on my site anytime!

    Like

  2. gabuchan July 4, 2008 at 4:02 pm #

    I love the vid of shinjuku station.
    I guess I love dodging all the people in shinjuku – wakes me up better than coffee.
    Nice blog and the name Tokyo 5 is neat.

    Like

  3. sfrunner June 21, 2008 at 12:52 am #

    Yes I did. The day I was at the station, I didn’t want to get in anyone’s way. It was in the middle of a weekday but still crowded.

    Like

  4. tokyo5 June 21, 2008 at 12:27 am #

    >Definitely more busy than Grand Central Station in New York.

    Grand Central was once the world’s busiest train station (the expression “Busier than Grand Central Station” is due to that fact)…but that was a long time ago.
    Shinjuku is much bigger and much busier!

    >By the way, I’ve posted the new Alcatraz photo on my site ( sfrunner.wordpress.com )

    I saw it. Very nice.

    Did you notice that I got my YouTube video that I took of Shinjuku Stn on this post?

    Like

  5. sfrunner June 20, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    Oh yes, I remember the Shinjuku station very well. Definitely more busy than Grand Central Station in New York.

    By the way, I’ve posted the new Alcatraz photo on my site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

