Pepsi Samurai

10 Jan

Pepsi-Cola Japan is has a new campaign.

Last summer, they gave away Snoopy cell-phone straps with bottles of Pepsi NEX.
Click here to read my post about that.

Now they are giving away Samurai cell-phone straps (well, one of them is Matthew Perry. Click here to read what I wrote about him.)

If you buy a bottle of Pepsi‘s “zero calorie” NEX cola at a convenience store or supermarket in Japan during this campaign period, it will come with a Samurai cell-phone strap.

(click to enlarge)

Personally, I don’t drink much cola…and I never drink “zero calorie” or diet drinks (they taste terrible).
Also, although I think 「侍」 (samurai) are cool, I don’t really need any more cell-phone straps (I have one on my phone that looks like a skull and I’m happy with it).

How about you? Would you buy this? Do you like “zero calorie” Pepsi?
What type of cell-phone strap do you have? (Does your country have straps on the phones like in Japan?)

22 Responses to “Pepsi Samurai”

  1. gaijinnosekai January 10, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I used to drink a lot of cola but these days I only do so occassionally. Like you I also don’t like the zero calorie and diet versions, they’re just nothing compared to the real deal! Anyway, if I was in Japan right now I’d probably buy a few bottles just for the straps, they’re pretty neat. In England though most people dont use cellphone straps, I don’t think I’ve seen any here actually…

    • tokyo5 January 10, 2010 at 10:49 am #

      >In England though most people dont use cellphone straps

      So how do they decorate cell-phones there?

  2. Bryn January 10, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    I don’t drink anything but regular Pepsi or Coke, but I bought a few bottles of Nex to get the Snoopy straps, and I plan to buy some for these way kawaii straps too!

    I had 14 straps on my cell, but recently upgraded to an iPhone, which doesn’t have a place for straps :( But I still love them and buy cute ones that I can’t resist.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:31 am #

      >I had 14 straps on my cell

      So many!?

      >recently upgraded to an iPhone

      Is it an “upgrade” from a Japanese phone?
      I saw an I-Phone in a store…I thought it looks like a chore to type emails on it compared to a regular Japanese phone.

      >which doesn’t have a place for straps

      American phones don’t even have a way to attach a phone strap?
      So different!

      >buy cute ones that I can’t resist.

      I have a few straps. But only use one-at-a-time…and none of mine are “cute”.
      Skulls, demons, and of course…I have a “KISS” (the rock band) strap.

  3. cuteandcurls January 10, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Im not a big fan of the diet version let alone zero calories ..and well i hardly drink pepsi these days … I think ive got tons of handphone straps in my collection and I would LOVE to have those samurai ones ..I enjoy collecting them for some reason especially the anime ones that I cant find over here. Over here its strap mania :) well thats what I think from what I see.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      So phone straps are popular over there like they are here in Japan then?

  4. bartman905 January 10, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    > How about you? Would you buy this?

    Looks cool, maybe – hey, it’s free.

    > Do you like “zero calorie” Pepsi?

    Not really, maybe I’ll try it.

    > What type of cell-phone strap do you have?

    Don’t any any cell phone straps attached to my cell phone.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      You don’t even have one phone strap?

      In Japan, that’s kind of unusual…so it’s cool. ;)

  5. Sir Pent January 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I don’t really have a lot of vices…but cola. I drink WAY too much on a daily basis.
    I also cannot drink the diet or zero calorie versions, it gives me nausea.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:37 am #

      You drink cola daily?
      I drink beer daily. But cola…very seldom.

      And I don’t drink “Lite” beer or “diet” anything!
      They’re always disgusting.

  6. Tornadoes28 January 11, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    I don’t know. Cute samurai? That just doesn’t seem right. Samurai are not cute.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      As you may know, “cute” sells in Japan.

  7. Chris January 11, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    I don’t ever recall seeing anyone with a strap on their cell phone where I live. I know I haven’t got one on mine. I think I see a small spot where one could, in theory, go, but I haven’t the need for one.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

      I think Americans like keychains (and bumper sticker on their cars)…but those aren’t popular here.

      In Japan, many stores sell cell-phone straps. They’ve been popular in Japan since the cell-phone came about (in the late ’90s).

  8. Sir Pent January 11, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    I used to have a beer every day, but alas…those days are over. I really only have a beer when I’m out or up at the cabin.

    • tokyo5 January 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      For me, a cup of coffee every morning and a can (or two) of beer every evening.

  9. Metal Misfit January 17, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    Those are really cool!

    • tokyo5 January 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      If you had one would you put it on your cell-phone? (Does your cell-phone have a place to attach straps?)

  10. tylerandalyssa January 18, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    We love Pepsi NEX and get one bottle a week. Our local GENKI store sells the big bottle for a cheap Y138 to Y145. It look like the offer is only for the smaller bottles though.

    • tokyo5 January 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

      How “big” is the bottle you’re talking about?
      The ad for this says the straps come with the 500ml bottles.

  11. bartman905 January 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I haven’t seen this yet at all – is the campaign over?

    • tokyo5 January 20, 2010 at 12:01 am #

      Well, Pepsi Japan still has it on their website.
      It says from 2009 December until supplies run out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

