Kit-Kat Japan

24 Jan

I don’t eat alot of お菓子 (junkfood), especially milk-chocolate (I think bitter chocolate is better)…so I don’t usually buy Kit-Kat.
But I bought some recently for my daughter’s High School Entrance Exam (Click here to read about that).

I know, though, that there are quite a few flavors of Kit-Kat…but I didn’t know that they are exclusive to Japan. I thought that since Kit-Kat is a Western (English) company, that all these flavors are worldwide.

It seems that the unusual Japanese Kit-Kat chocolates are a popular souvenir with visitors to Japan from overseas.

I see these Kit-Kat chocolates all the time, so I’ve really thought nothing of them. But people who don’t live in Japan find them fascinating, it seems.

I have no idea how many flavors of Kit-Kat there are in Japan, but here are a few:

「柚子こしょう」 ("Asian Citrus and Peppers")

「柚子こしょう」 ("Yuzu-koshou"..."Kyushu-taste spice")

For Valentines

For Valentines

「?ャラメルプリン味」 ("Caramel Pudding flavor") for Halloween

「キャラメルプリン味」 ("Caramel Pudding flavor") for Halloween

This can be mailed (front view)

This can be mailed (front view)

(back view)

(back view)

Another one for students taking their school Entrance Exam is 雪見桜 (Yukimizakura). The name implies cherry-blossoms in the snow, and the chocolate is pink and white swirl:

yukimizakura

「雪見桜」 (Yukimizakura)

「大?いも味」 ("College Potato flavor") for College Entrance Exams takers.

「大学いも味」 ("College Potato flavor") for College Entrance Exams takers.

This one is 東京限定 (“Tokyo only”):

濃きなこ ("Rich soy powder")

濃きなこ ("Rich soy powder")

This one is 東京限定 (“Tokyo only”) too:

しょうゆ風味 ("Soy sauce style taste")

しょうゆ風味 ("Soy sauce style taste")

「林檎」 (Apple flavor)

「林檎」 (Apple flavor)

Banana

Banana

「?ャラメルマ?アート」 (Cafe Latte with Caramel)

「キャラメルマキアート」 (Cafe Latte with Caramel)

Cookies+

Cookies+

「大納言」 (Sweet bean)

「大納言」 (Sweet bean)

ダブルベリー (Double Berry)

ダブルベリー (Double Berry)

Japanese green tea

「伊藤久右衛門」 (Japanese green tea)

ほうじ茶 (Roasted Green Tea)

ほうじ茶 (Roasted Green Tea)

苺味 (Strawberry flavor)

苺味 (Strawberry flavor)

Kit-Kat in a jar

Kit-Kat in a jar

きなこ (Soybean flour)

きなこ (Soybean flour)

さくらんぼ味 (Cherry flavor)

さくらんぼ味 (Cherry flavor)

みかん (Tangerine)

みかん (Tangerine)

「白桃&黄桃」 (White peach & Yellow peach)

「白桃&黄桃」 (White peach & Yellow peach)

Mild Bitter

Mild Bitter

Muscat grapes

Muscat grapes

This next one is おしるこ味 ((O)-shiruko flavor)…Click here to read my post about 汁粉 ((O)-shiruko).

「おしるこ味」 (Oshiruko flavor)

「おしるこ味」 (Oshiruko flavor)

プリン (Pudding)

プリン (Pudding)

すいか (Watermelon)

すいか (Watermelon)

White chocolate

White chocolate

ゆず (Japanese citrus fruit)

ゆず (Japanese citrus fruit)

And then there are the “exotic“-series Kit-Kat chocolates:

"Exotic Tokyo"

"Exotic Tokyo"

"Exotic Tokyo; White"

"Exotic Tokyo; White"

"Exotic Tokyo; Sakura"

"Exotic Tokyo; Sakura"

"Exotic Hokkaido"

"Exotic Hokkaido"

"Exotic Hokkaido; White"

"Exotic Hokkaido; White"

"Exotic Kyushu"

"Exotic Kyushu"

"Exotic Kansai"

"Exotic Kansai"

There are alot more Kit-Kat flavors in Japan, too!

I took a few of the photos above with my camera…but most of them are from Kit Kat Japan‘s website.

48 Responses to “Kit-Kat Japan”

  1. Tornadoes28 January 25, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    I’ve had the green tea version and it was really good. I wish they still had it.

    • FoodCriticsNYC January 26, 2014 at 2:07 pm #

      They actually still have it. It depends on where you live. I wrote a guide on where to find specific flavors Kit Kat, but only in the NYC area. I often get asked where to find them! =D

      • tokyo5 January 27, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

        Yeah, some of the flavors are temporary but the Green Tea Kit-Kat is popular and one of the permanent flavors in Japan.

  2. Eric January 25, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    Wow! That’s a lot of different types of Kit Kat!

  3. Tom January 25, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    Hmm, grape?

  4. bartman905 January 25, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    I actually just bought the Sweet Potato Kit Kat since I love sweet potato and it still taste like chocolate … that’s a lot of other types of Kit Kat and this is the first one that I have tried in Japan.

  5. tokyo5 January 25, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    Tornadoes28…

    >I’ve had the green tea version and it was really good.

    Did you have the 伊藤久右衛門 (Green Tea) or the ほうじ茶 (Roasted green tea) flavor?

    >I wish they still had it.

    Yeah, most of the Kit-Kat flavors are “limited time only”…which, I guess, makes them more valuable.

  6. tokyo5 January 25, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    Eric…

    >Wow! That’s a lot of different types of Kit Kat!

    Yes. And I didn’t put all of them on this post…there are more. (And they change them often, it seems).

    • Randy May 18, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      Can i buy from this website you left at the bottom of list…… the Kit Kat Japan‘s website , with an American credit card? I can kind of read katakana and hiragana but im a little rusty and i want to know if american money will wrk like that online….if you can leave a little instructions for me that’d be great, thank you either way though :)

      • tokyo5 May 20, 2012 at 12:42 am #

        I imagine that you probably can buy Japanese Kit-Kat with an American issued credit card…but I’m not completely positive.

        But rather than I explain how to use their online shop site…you should contact them directly and ask them, I think.

        I have Japanese issued credit cards and I’ve only ever used them in stores in Japan and Japanese shops…so I don’t know how the currency exchange rate affects the price or if there are steep overseas shipping costs.

        Kit-Kat Japan has an online shop through the popular (in Japan) Japanese online shopping site Rakuten.
        The URL is: http://www.rakuten.ne.jp/gold/e-nestle/kitkat.html

        You can email them directly at: rakuten_nestle@csl.fujitsu.com and ask them about it.

        Hope that helps.

  7. tokyo5 January 25, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    Tom…

    >Hmm, grape?

    Does that one sound the best to you?
    I’d like to see what the 「プリン」 (Pudding) flavor is like. Or else the 「ゆず」 (Japanese citrus) flavor.

    And I like bitter chocolate (as I mentioned in the post)…so the “Mild Bitter” would probably be good to me.

  8. tokyo5 January 25, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    bartman905…

    >I actually just bought the Sweet Potato Kit Kat

    The 「大学いも味」 ? It’s made for students taking college entrance exams.

    Do you like it?

  9. Ray January 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    Hi,
    jep, first time in Tokyo, but currently in Kyoto. I’ll be back in a few days.

    Fascinating city, lots of people and action.

    Regards,

  10. tokyo5 January 25, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Ray…

    Thanks for visiting my site. Please come often and comment anytime!

    So, how do you like Japan? Tokyo and Kyoto are quite different, huh?

    What brought you to Japan? Just sightseeing?
    Where are you from?

  11. Brenda January 26, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    Do you know if there’s a special significance to the ones that can be mailed, or what flavor it is? I’ve never seen the exotic series, have you? All my friends in the States are obsessed w/ the Japanese Kit Kats and beg me all the time to send them! LOL

  12. tokyo5 January 27, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    Brenda…

    Thanks for visiting my site. Please visit and comment often!
    How long have you been in Japan?

    >Do you know if there’s a special significance to the ones that can be mailed

    Yes. It’s for students taking their school Entrance Exam. Kit-Kat is popular for that because the name sounds like “I will pass!” in Japanese.
    I gave that Kit-Kat to my daughter a few days ago when she took her High School Entrance Exam…
    Read about it here:

    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/entrance-exam/

    >what flavor it is?

    It’s regular Kit-Kat.

    The 「雪見桜」 (Yukimizakura) is pink and white (cherry and white chocolate)…and 「大学いも味」 (College Potato Flavor) is white chocolate and potato.
    Both of those are for students taking Entrance Exams, too.
    Usually the Kit-Kat chocolates with 桜 (Cherry Blossoms) on the package (like those three I mentioned) are for Entrance Exam takers because school starts in Spring in Japan…when Cherry Blossoms are in bloom.

    >I’ve never seen the exotic series, have you?

    Yes, but they are purposely rare. To make them more exotic, I guess ;)
    I have seen all of them in Tokyo when they were new…but generally speaking, the Hokkaido ones are only in Hokkaido, Tokyo ones are only in Tokyo, etc.

    新宿駅(Shinjuku train station) often has the Exotic Tokyo Kit-Kats.

    If I can be of any more help…let me know.

  13. tokyo5 February 7, 2009 at 2:32 am #

    I just added two new Kit-Kat flavors that I saw in a store today (I added them near the top of this post, above the “Apple flavor” one).

    They are both 「東京限定」 (Tokyo only) flavors.
    One is 「濃きなこ」 (Rich Soy Powder), and the other is 「しょうゆ風味」 (Soy Sauce Style Flavor).

  14. Brenda February 7, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    Yay! New flavors! I’ll be in Tokyo on Tues, I’ll definitely be hunting for Kit Kats (where did you see them?)!

  15. tokyo5 February 7, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Brenda…

    I saw them at JR上野駅 (Ueno JR Station).

  16. tokyo5 March 15, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    I took a photo of a new Kit Kat flavor I saw today and just added it to the top of this post. (It’s called 「柚子こしょう」 (“Yuzu-koshou”).

    It says that it’s 「九州限定」 (“Kyushu area only”)…but I saw it here in the Tokyo area.

    I put the photo here:

    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2009/01/24/kit-kat-japan/#yuzukoshou

  17. lbi May 9, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    are these kit kat easy to find in Japan? I’m going to Japan soon. Where can I buy them?

    • tokyo5 May 9, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      They can found at nearly any convenience store, supermarket, candy store, etc in Japan…at least in the city—especially the busiest areas of Tokyo.

      Less crowded and rural areas will have smaller selection, of course.

      What part of Japan will you visit? When?

  18. jane October 2, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I have searched everywhere in Osaka and Kobe but could not find flavored kit kats. Any suggestions where I should be looking particularly??

    • tokyo5 October 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      Really? I’m sure they’re available in Osaka and Kobe..
      Did you try convenience stores…especially the ones in major train stations?
      How about candy stores?

      You can buy them online at this site (in Japanese).

  19. blissflower1969 April 27, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    We brought back the wasabi and the regular green tea. I had a friend that was there last year for a circus and when he came back he brought some other flavors like plum, saki, manju, and sweet bean. The only one I didn’t like was the saki. I’ve heard of a corn flavored one too, but I’ve never seen or tried it.
    And actually eat a lot of junk food. It’s how I keep my girlish figure. Lol

    • tokyo5 April 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      >I’ve heard of a corn flavored one too

      Yes, they’re constantly offering new unusual flavors.

  20. maria October 1, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    hai there where can i buy kit kat green tea flavour in Japan except at the airport? thankyou

    • tokyo5 October 1, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      I couldn’t say off the top of my head.
      I don’t eat much junk-food … I don’t have a “sweet tooth”, so I don’t really pay attention to where certain candy is sold.

      Besides, I think that most of the unique flavors are seasonal and not offered for long.

      That said, if I was looking for a particular flavor, I’d try a major train station such as Shinjuku or Tokyo Stn.
      In fact, the remodeled Tokyo Stn just opened today! So there will be many people there checking it out and shopping in the station stores … so that’s probably a good place to check now.
      Also the Ame-Yoko-Cho area of Tokyo has a number of junk-food stores with good prices.

      Are you in Tokyo now?

      • rendi January 10, 2013 at 2:43 am #

        Hello tokyo5. I see that you are very well known about your country and also unique snacks. Here in my country now,there is a ‘ japan snack trend’ everyone craving for japan kitkat. Hahahaha

        if i could know,what is the others website/contact person if i want to import japan snacks like pocky,chocobi for wholesale quantities? Please send to my email if you know. . . Thankyou :)

      • tokyo5 January 10, 2013 at 7:16 am #

        No, sorry, I don’t have contact info for any wholesalers.

        Why don’t you contact the snackfood companies directly if you want to become a distributor or vendor of their products?

  21. rendi January 10, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    i’m searching but only one the barrier : Language. :D i visited many Japan website such as bandai,glico, and also nestle and the only one i can contact is nestle and because of your referention, :)

    really hard to find their e-mail, and i have to copy-paste to google translate to know what the words in website means. eheheheheh.

    until now i’m typing while searching it :l hahahaha.

    if i could know, there is an issue that in japan kitkat has already sold out because too many export, is that true? hmm… i think japan would be the leader of snacks because many unique snacks there. hahaha

    • tokyo5 January 10, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      >in japan, kitkat has already soldout because too many export. is that true?

      Where did you hear that?
      I don’t think there is a stortage of Kit-Kat here.

      • rendi January 10, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

        Because when i order in december 2012, the supplier in japan said only 3 flavours are ready and the others are sold out. i don’t know why they said that, maybe because my competitor here in Indonesia bought from them in huge quantities instead of me? huhuhuhu.

      • tokyo5 January 11, 2013 at 7:31 am #

        Well, many of the unique flavors of Kit-Kat in Japan are available for a “limited time only”.

  22. fungardens.zoomshare.com January 16, 2013 at 4:17 am #

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thank you!

    • tokyo5 January 16, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      I don’t understand why you receive “several emails with the same comment”.
      Really?

      Also, I can’t find any other comment on my blog under your username.
      If this isn’t spam, then contact me and tell me under which post your other comment is and under which username; I’ll be happy to remove you from the email notifications if you want.

  23. Gigi Scotting March 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Hiya, I have wondered about buying the software DubTurbo Beatmaker and was hoping somebody could give me an actual honest critique of the computer software. Lots of the online resources that offer experiences are in fact affiliate sites selling the application so I question that the evaluations are authentic. Cheers in advance for any insight any one can offer.

    • tokyo5 March 13, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      I’ve never even heard of that software, so I have no idea about it’s quality.

  24. FoodCriticsNYC January 26, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

    I’M SO JEALOUS IN A GOOD WAY!!!!! XD

    YOU’RE SO LUCKY!!! XD

    I’ve only had six different flavors so far! (With one being from Great Britain instead of Japan)

    • tokyo5 January 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

      I guess it’s kinda ironic…I could eat these unusual Kit-Kat flavors here in Japan…but I’m not really interested.

  25. iridescentspaces April 17, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

    Kit Kat music CDs are now available from the Kit Kat Chocolatory in Tokyo! http://alasdairmcleod.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/kit-kat-chocolatory-cds-and-chandeliers/

    • tokyo5 April 18, 2014 at 9:36 am #

      What kind of music is on that CD?

  26. Mrs Hicks July 30, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

    Oh lord! I’d like to try the Yukimizakura, the apple and the soy sauce flavours. We’ve had purple yam, green tea, sakura green tea, strawberry cheesecake, azuki bean, wasabi, chilli, vanilla cheesecake, adult (オトナ) matcha green tea (I don’t know why the addition of crisped rice makes them adult, but they are delicious!). We can sometimes buy them online from a store in the UK called Japan Centre. I think J-List also sometimes carry them, for people in the US.

    Man, I love Japanese KitKats!

    • tokyo5 July 31, 2014 at 8:26 am #

      >We can sometimes buy them online from a store in the UK

      Are they expensive to buy that way?

      • Mrs Hicks July 31, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

        Yes. One of the boxes costs around £14 here. That’s something like 2500円. They are a big treat!

      • tokyo5 August 1, 2014 at 8:09 am #

        ¥2500 (about US$25) for Kit-Kat? I’d never pay that. The price tag for them here is around ¥130 (US$1.30)!

  27. Dorine August 10, 2014 at 11:57 am #

    Do u have do wholesale for kit kat?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

