Three Day Weekend

11 Oct

昨日 (Yesterday) was 十月十日 (October 10). Until a few years ago, that day used to be 体育の日 (Sports Day). But, along with a few other 祝日 (holidays), it’s been changed to the closest 月曜日 (Monday).

Therefore, this 月曜日 (Monday) (十月十三日 (October 13)) is 体育の日 (Sports Day). So, 今日 (today) is the first day of a 三連休 (three-day weekend).

(You can see my short FAQ post about 体育の日 (Sports Day) here.)

There are many 秋祭 (Autumn Festivals) around 日本 (Japan) this weekend and next. We plan to go to a couple of them.

Today (土曜日 (Saturday)), though, we’re just staying home because our daughters need to study for exams that they’ll will have at school on 火曜日 (Tuesday).

*****
I’m part of “Generation X” (born in the late 1960s – late ’70s). I was in Elementary school in the 1970s and a teenager in the 1980s.
I can remember (vaguely) the election of the US President Jimmy Carter. More vividly I remember when Rubik’s Cube®, Sony Walkman® (that played cassettes), MTV®, “Nightmare On Elm Street“, and Pac-Man® were big.

Growing up I loved Star Wars, The Incredible Hulk (TV show), Knight Rider (I’ve seen an episode of that old show recently…I can’t believe I liked it as a kid!), Evel Knievel, The Fonz, and heavy metal music (some of my favorites were (and still are): KISS (see my post here), Judas Priest, Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Quiet Riot, Motley Crue, and Scorpions).

Recognize any of those? Some things on that list were from the ’70s (until I was ten years old) and others were from the ’80s (when I was eleven years old til high school).

(BTW, all of the band logos above are copyright© of their respective owners. And I got the images from the Hard Rock Hideout website).

My three kids were born between 1993 and 1996. Their generation doesn’t remember a pre-internet or pre-cell phone world. They were too young to understand the “9/11” attacks when they occurred.


Anyways…what was popular with you when you were growing up? (Write about it in the comments section!)

82 Responses to “Three Day Weekend”

  1. Sir Pent October 11, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    Hey T5,
    I was born in ’71…so I’m right there with ya. I grew up in a small mid-western coal-mining/farm town, but we still had all the stuff you spoke of above.

    I remember at a point coming to a realization that things hadn’t “always existed”. I remember learning that music by Steve Miller, Meat Loaf, Wings had only been around a few years…not forever. Now it’s all “classic”.

    I was always a cartoon/animation fan…so I remember the bad Hanna-Barbera cartoons that I once couldn’t watch enough of. I remember the Japanimation imports, like Star Blazers (a personal fave that I got on DVD) from the 70s and Robotech (also have on DVD) from the 80s.

    Jimmy Carter was the first president I was aware of…Reagan was the first president that I was aware of being elected. It was during his presidency that I became aware of daily news…hostage crisis, assassination attempt and Gumby…

  2. choppernewt October 11, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Captain Cosmic on KTVU San Francisco. It was really just the weatherman in disguise, but that was OK, becuase he showed Spectraman, Star Blazers (I think), and other shows we wouldn’t otherwise get to see. This would have been in the late 70’s/early 80’s.

    Independent television stations in general were something I always liked and that I kind of miss. The ones in the Bay Area were always showing old TV shows, cartoons, stuff like that all day long, then maybe a movie at 8PM. Low budget stuff, but entertaining when you are 10. On my recent visit back, I saw that KTVU is still on, but now it’s a Fox affiliate, and I assume that it is talk shows and judge shows all day long. I’m glad I was a kid then instead of now.

  3. tokyo5 October 11, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    Thanks for commenting.

    >Star Blazers

    I’ve never seen that as a kid in America…so I had to look it up online.
    It’s 「宇宙戦艦ヤマト」 (Space Battleship Yamato). (Yamato was a real Japanese naval battleship during WW2. And the original name of “Japan”).

    When I was a kid, I liked the Japanese cartoon “Battle Of The Planets” (later called “G-Force” in the US). (Real title is: 「科学忍者隊ガッチャマン」 (“Science Ninja Team: Gatchaman“)).

    Besides KISS, what other 70s / 80s music did you listen to?

  4. tokyo5 October 11, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    Choppernewt…

    Thanks for commenting on my site.

    Did you grow up in San Francisco? We visited there about fourteen years ago. Very nice city!

  5. tokyo5 October 11, 2008 at 2:05 pm #

    Since I’m on the subject of ’80s heavy metal bands (and this is a Japan blog)…have you ever noticed how many Live In Japan albums there are?

    A few off of the top of my head:

    Iron MaidenMaiden Japan
    Cheap TrickLive At The Budokan
    Ozzy OsbourneLive At The Budokan
    Dream TheaterLive At The Budokan
    S.O.D.Live At The Budokan
    SavatageLive In Japan ’94
    Mr. BigRaw Like Sushi (Live In Japan)
    Judas PriestPriest In The East
    DokkenBeast From The East
    Deep PurpleMade In Japan
    etc

  6. tokyo5 October 11, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Also, in the ’80s I remember first seeing the VCR (that played video cassettes), the microwave oven, and the CD player (at the end of the ’80s).

    +++

    If you made an album with ten or so of your favorite songs from your high school years (songs that you liked that were released during your high school years), what would they be?

    I’m thinking:

    Motley Crue Shout At The Devil
    Scorpions Rock You Like A Hurricane
    Ozzy Osbourne Bark At The Moon
    Ratt Lay It Down
    KISS When Your Walls Come Down
    Judas Priest Jawbreaker
    Metallica Master Of Puppets
    Iron Maiden 2 Minutes To Midnight
    Megadeth Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?
    Quiet Riot Metal Health

    I was in high school from 1984-1988, so I kept that list to songs released between those years.

    How about movies released during those years?
    Lethal Weapon
    Die Hard
    Terminator
    Nightmare On Elm Street
    Karate Kid
    Planes, Trains And Automobiles
    Robocop
    Beverly Hills Cop

    How about your lists?

  7. Sir Pent October 12, 2008 at 11:27 pm #

    Well…you might be surprised. Even though I was high school from 85-89, I wasn’t totally a metal-head. I listened (& still do listen) to country, rap, pop, rock, metal, punk, show tunes, jazz.

    If I can just “wing” a list off the top of my head of songs I played a lot in HS…this would be it:
    Jetboy – Feel The Shake
    Sawyer Brown – The Race Is On
    Wynton Marcelis – Linus & Lucy
    KISS – Turn On The Night
    Randy Travis – Forever
    Gwar – And Now It’s Time For Death
    REM – It’s The End Of The World As We Know It
    Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody
    Samantha Fox – Touch Me (I Wanna Feel Your Body)
    Dead Milkmen – Punk Rock Girl

    List of movies? Well, obviously ALL of the above…but my friends and I were also into the bad comedies:
    Johnny Be Good
    Better Off Dead
    Making The Grade
    UHF
    Real Genius
    Top Secret
    the Adventures of Ford Fairlane
    European Vacation

  8. tokyo5 October 13, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    Sir Pent…
    Thanks for responding.

    >I listened (& still do listen) to country, rap, pop, rock, metal, punk, show tunes, jazz.

    I like Lynyrd Skynyrd. That’s about as close to country as I get.
    The closest to rap in my CD collection is Limp Bizkit and Anthrax‘s “I’m The Man”
    I like some pop music (You can listen to a “J-Pop” song I like here: http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/background-music/ )
    I have a CD that is a Punk Rock Tribute To ’80s Metal…Have you ever heard it? It’s fun. But that’s the only punk CD I have. (A friend introduced me to NOFX and Rancid, though).
    Show tunes and Jazz? Sorry. Not for me.

    Your music list is quite a mismatch!
    I’ve never heard of Jetboy or Wynton Marcelis
    and I know Whitney Houston and Samantha Fox…but I’ve never cared much for their music.

    I’ve seen most of the movies on your list.
    Did you know that Judas Priest sang the remake of “Johnny B. Goode” for the movie soundtrack? It’s on the movie soundtrack (which I don’t own) and on Priest‘s album “Ram It Down” (which I do own).

    Thanks again.

  9. tokyo5 October 13, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    I just mentioned in my comment above that Judas Priest sang the song “Johnny B. Goode” for the movie soundtrack of the same name.

    That reminded me of other movies with heavy metal soundtracks…

    Mission Impossible 2 (songs by: Metallica, Limp Bizkit, Rob Zombie, et al)

    Last Action Hero (songs by: AC/DC, Megadeth, Anthrax, et al)

    Maximum Overdrive (all songs by: AC/DC)

    Pet Semetary (all songs by: The Ramones)

    Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey (songs by: KISS, Megadeth, et al)

    Strangeland (songs by: Twisted Sister, et al)

    Detroit Rock City (songs by: KISS, Pantera, Marilyn Manson, et al)

    Dazed & Confused (songs by: KISS, Alice Cooper, Black Sabbath, et al)

    That’s just off the top of my head.
    Can you think of any I missed?

  10. Sir Pent October 13, 2008 at 1:02 am #

    I grew up in a house where everybody loved music and different varieties. We even had classical in my house. I would listen to different kinds of music for hours and try to figure out why certain parts were “catchy” and why certain songs didn’t have “it”.
    When I was younger I took piano lessons and my brother (who took guitar) tried to show me some stuff…but it was always too structured. I didn’t have the attention span.
    Besides, after I saw KISS and Peter Criss…it was the drums for me.

    Shocker (Paul Stanley, Megadeth)
    Wayne’s World 1&2 (Queen, Aerosmith, etc)

  11. tokyo5 October 13, 2008 at 1:49 am #

    Oh yeah, I forgot about the Shocker soundtrack (and I have it)…Dangerous Toys is on there, too.

    And Wayne’s World.

    Thanks.

  12. liftingshadows October 13, 2008 at 2:48 am #

    do you know Sneki Koizumi? (Cougen)
    :D

    have you seen Dream Theater?! one of my favorites along with Pain of Salvation and Porcupine Tree. Check them out!

  13. Sir Pent October 13, 2008 at 4:44 am #

    I have Shocker on cassette…but never listen to it. Let’s face it, most of those songs on that soundtrack are not the “best efforts” of the artists involved.

    I’VE never heard of Sneki Koizumi. What about you T5?

  14. tokyo5 October 13, 2008 at 11:51 pm #

    liftingshadows…

    Thanks for visiting my site.
    I don’t know Sneki Koizumi. 小泉 (Koizumi) is a common Japanese family name…but “Sneki” must be a stage name.
    Is “Cougen” the band’s name? What type of music?

    I’ve heard Dream Theatre…but I’m not really a fan. Sorry.
    I’ve never heard of Pain Of Salvation nor Porcupine Tree.
    Quite unusual band names!

    Sir Pent…
    The Shocker and Bill And Ted’s Bogus Journey soundtracks are below par. I don’t listen to them either.
    Both of those movies were tripe, too!

    The Last Action Hero soundtrack is pretty good, I think.

    And, no, as I mentioned above…I don’t know Sneki Koizumi.

  15. Sir Pent October 14, 2008 at 1:50 am #

    LAH is a really good soundtrack…mediocre movie, though.

    Following up on Chopper Newt’s thread above:
    I grew up in Illinois, but near Indiana. We used to get an independent station out of Indianapolis called WTTV Channel 4. They had my favorite daily kiddie shows:
    the Janie Show (or just “Janie”)
    Cowboy Bob’s Corral

    They were also the ones that played StarBlazers, Battle of the Planets, etc.

    On weekend late nights they had the creature-feature host Sammy Terry! He was like an Elvira, Vampirella, or Svengoolie. He had a pet spider George. (George was a rubber spider toy dangled from a string that murmured to Sammy Terry and then Sammy would translate to the viewing audience.) Check him out at:

    http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendID=43387776

  16. tokyo5 October 14, 2008 at 2:46 am #

    Sir Pent…

    Last Action Hero was mediocre. That’s true.
    Did you know that’s one of three movies that Arnold Swarchenegger and Danny DeVito were in together?
    Danny DeVito was the voice of the animated cat in Last Action Hero. They both were in Twins and Junior together also.

    And I looked at “Sammy Terry”‘s MySpace page that you provided the link to.
    He looks like quite a character!

    (BTW, I know MySpace and Facebook and real popular in America. But, personally, I don’t see the appeal).

  17. Sir Pent October 14, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    Well, then you probably don’t want to check out the Lizards From Afar myspace page:

    http://myspace.com/lizardsfromafar

    It’s like Girls Gone Wild…but with a lot fewer girls.

  18. tokyo5 October 14, 2008 at 10:12 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    Yeah, seriously. I don’t understand why MySpace and FaceBook are so popular in America. The pages I’ve seen on those sites were like looking at random graffiti to me.

    I like blogs on sites like WordPress personally.

  19. Sir Pent October 15, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    I can understand it.
    A blog is a commitment…a job…
    myspace is a tattoo…a visual declaration…
    facebook is fancy text messaging…

  20. tokyo5 October 15, 2008 at 9:36 pm #

    MySpace and FaceBook just look like chaos to me. And there’s usually nothing to read except similar comments from visitors (I like to read visitor’s comments…but on those sites, it seems like the only comment is “Thanks for the add” (whatever that means!?) over and over).

  21. Sir Pent October 16, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    Much like my taste in music…I like them all.

  22. tokyo5 October 16, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    Do you ever listen to music from non-English speaking countries?

  23. Sir Pent October 17, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    Not really. It’s not that I’m against it, it’s just not something that I’ve had a lot of exposure to. If there is something that you could recommend…

  24. Sir Pent October 17, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Well, now that I think of it…
    I have a few zydeco albums that are mostly in French.
    I have some opera in Italian.
    I have some cassettes that were in Spanish.

    Not a lot…but that’s some.

  25. Sir Pent October 17, 2008 at 11:39 pm #

    T5,
    Question 1: Do you listen to any podcasts?

    Question 2: If yes to Q1, any Japanese podcasts that you know of that you think we should submit our music to?

    http://reverbnation.com/lizardsfromafar

    Sir Pent

  26. tokyo5 October 18, 2008 at 1:23 am #

    Sir Pent…

    I don’t know “Zydeco“. What kind of music is it that they play?

    And “Opera”! Wow. I’m 1/4 Italian and I’ve never listened to Opera!

    >If there is something that you could recommend…

    Well, as far as bands from non-English speaking countries that I have in my CD collection:

    The ones who aren’t native English speakers, but sing in English:
    – The Scorpions (from Germany)
    – Gorky Park (from Russia)
    – Loudness (from Japan (I have CDs by them in English and some in Japanese))
    – EZO (from Japan)
    – Lordi (from Finland)

    Bands that don’t sing in English:
    All of the CDs I have in my collection in this category are Japanese bands…and I have quite a few.
    Including:
    – Loudness
    – X Japan
    – Southern All Stars
    – Orange Range
    – B’z
    et al.

    Others I would recommend:
    – Kabuki Rocks (they wear kabuki make-up. Kinda like KISS.)
    – Guitar Wolf
    – Rip Slyme
    (all are Japanese bands (who sing in Japanese))

    As far as podcasts…
    No, I don’t listen to them. So I’m not sure of any popular ones.

  27. Sir Pent October 18, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    Zydeco is a type of music. It’s like a mixture of country, blues, jazz…popular in the Lousiana, Mississippi, etc.

    In my defense, the opera CDs belong to my wife…but I do occasionally listen to them.

    I’ve heard of a lot of those bands and listened to most of them at one point or another.
    It’s only the “Others” that I don’t know of.

  28. tokyo5 October 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    I’ve never heard of Zydeco before.

    >I’ve heard of a lot of those bands

    Including the ones that sing in Japanese, like X Japan, Orange Range, etc?

  29. Sir Pent October 18, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    Like I said…I’ve heard of and listened to MOST. I’ve heard the names X Japan and Orange Range. Maybe in an article online or someplace, but I’ve heard of them.

  30. tokyo5 October 18, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Do you have the “KISS My A**” CD?
    The song “Black Diamond” is done by Yoshiki…he’s a member of X-Japan.

  31. Sir Pent October 19, 2008 at 2:19 am #

    Do I have KISS My A**? Of course! Maybe that IS where I read about him, when that album was coming out. I like that album but was still a little disappointed. They advertised and hyped up SO many cool, huge bands scheduled to be on the album that ended up not being on there. (Megadeth, Metallica, Ozzy, Soundgarden, etc.)

  32. tokyo5 October 19, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    Yeah, that album wasn’t as good as I had hoped. I heard they planned to release a “KISS My A** Part 2” with those bands you mentioned performing…but I guess the first one didn’t sell well enough to justify a second one.

    Do you know why Ace Frehley’s make-up is wrong on that album cover? At that time that that CD was released, Ace and Peter were still former members of KISS. KISS owned the rights to Peter’s make-up design so they could use his Catman design…but Ace owned his Spaceman design and refused to let KISS put it on that album. That’s also why Ace’s image is covered up on every picture inside the CD jacket.

    Ace relinquished control of his make-up design when he rejoined KISS…and that’s why KISS can let Tommy Thayer wear Ace’s make-up now.

    BTW, there’s a Japanese Tribute To KISS CD. (Another Japan only release, like I mentioned in this comment: http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/detroit-metal-city/#comment-568 and this one: http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/detroit-metal-city/#comment-570 ).
    It’s called KISS 「地獄の賞賛」 Tribute In Japan (地獄の賞賛 means: “Hell’s Tribute”).
    It features a number of Japanese rock bands that like KISS doing a unique version of a KISS classic. It’s an official KISS release…but for Japan only.

    Also…do you know Marty Friedman? Former guitarist for Megadeth.
    He’s a KISS fan. His wife is Japanese and he speaks the language fluently.
    After quitting Megadeth, he moved here to Tokyo.
    He hosts a music program on TV.

  33. Sir Pent October 19, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    Yeah, I’ve read that the agreement has Ace “owning” the make-up design…but the KISS company has a licensing agreement with him. So they can use the Spaceman makeup whenever they want, but they have to pay Ace.

    I’ve heard OF that KISS tribute…but haven’t actually listened to it. At one point in my life I was always chasing down the KISS tribute albums (I think I have about 15 various) but eventually gave up because most of them only have a couple of good versions. It also seemed like 2 or 3 were coming out every year.

    There’s a new tribute album to Vinnie Vincent out. I was getting excited about it as they released the first couple of song clips. Then they released clips for every song on the album. Most of them sounded cheaply produced and really didn’t bring anything interesting to the songs…so in the end, I passed.

  34. tokyo5 October 19, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    Yeah, there are alot of tribute albums.
    I have only the two tribute albums to KISS that I mentioned above.

    I have some others, too (Bruce Kulick’s brother Bob produced many of them)…tributes to Ozzy, Aerosmith, Van Halen, Metallica, etc.
    Some are better than others.

    Do you have the Happy Family–Tribute To The Ramones?
    I bought it because KISS, Marilyn Manson and The Red Hot Chili Peppers are among the bands that perform on it.

  35. Sir Pent October 20, 2008 at 1:49 am #

    I never bought it because at the time I was in a “If they’re not going to decide WHO is in the band, why should I buy anything with their music?” phase.
    I was really sick of the line-up changes:
    paul gene ace peter
    paul gene ace eric
    paul gene tommy eric
    paul gene peter tommy
    paul gene tommy eric

    I’m kinda over it now, but I haven’t seen it in the store to buy it. Also, if I do…I’d probably just buy that shortened version of the Symphony thing…because it has it on there.

  36. Sir Pent October 20, 2008 at 1:52 am #

    Forgot to mention…I have heard most of that album though, and it’s not BAD…I’d much rather listen to the Ramones proper than this tribute.
    The KISS version of DYRRNRR was perfectly acceptable. The original is better.

    In recent months I’ve become addicted to the KISS version of IT’S MY LIFE…which was released on the boxset. I cannot for the life of me figure out why that was never released as a single. THAT is what KISS is all about right there!

  37. tokyo5 October 21, 2008 at 1:27 am #

    Actually, the KISS song on that Ramones tribute album isn’t the best song on the album, honestly.
    I like the Chili Peppers version of “Havana Affair” better.

    And do you have the KISS boxset?
    Which version? The “cigar box” or “guitar case” version?
    I just have the “cigar box” one…it was expensive enough!

    What do you think of that original version of God Of Thunder with Paul on vox?
    Quite different!?

  38. tokyo5 October 21, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    >I was really sick of the line-up changes:
    paul gene ace peter
    paul gene ace eric
    paul gene tommy eric
    paul gene peter tommy
    paul gene tommy eric

    By “Eric” you mean “Eric Singer” (not Eric Carr).
    You’re only refering to KISS’ line-up from the 1996 Reunion to present.

    If you wrote all the different line-ups for the band’s history, the list would be a lot longer! (I’m sure you know).

  39. Sir Pent October 21, 2008 at 9:48 am #

    I was indeed talking about 1996 to present, otherwise it would be:
    paul gene ace peter
    paul gene ace eric
    paul gene eric vinnie
    paul gene eric mark
    paul gene eric bruce
    paul gene bruce eric
    paul gene ace peter
    paul gene ace eric
    paul gene tommy eric
    paul gene peter tommy
    paul gene tommy eric

    I have the guitar-case box-set. (Yes, expensive…but it was my Xmas present.)
    What did I think of Paul’s God Of Thunder? It’s very pop…dancing dangerously close to early disco music. I don’t hate it, but it’s not one of the songs I listen to regularly.
    It really reinforces how much influence Ezrin had on that album.

  40. tokyo5 October 21, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    Yes, the lead guitar and drum position in KISS changed many times. Only Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley were in the band the entire time.

    And, you didn’t write last names…but three people have been KISS’s drummer. Two named “Eric”…Eric Singer replaced Eric Carr when he died in November 1991.

    >how much influence Ezrin had on that album (“Destroyer“).

    But Bob Ezrin produced “Music From The Elder“, too ;)

  41. Sir Pent October 22, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Yes…and I actually like the Elder, too.
    I never could quite figure out the “story” because it never seemed to go anywhere.
    What I never knew until a few years ago was that:
    1) The Elder is not a ‘complete’ story. It was conceived as Part 1 of a planned trilogy
    2) When the record company released the album, they put the uptempo songs towards the beginning (they felt it flowed better)…so not only were we given only the first 1/3 of the story, but what we were given was out of order.

    …not good for a concept album.

  42. tokyo5 October 23, 2008 at 12:10 am #

    You like The Elder? I have the album…but seldom play it.

    I don’t think anyone can figure out the storyline! ;)

    I have never heard that it was the first of an unreleased trilogy before. But I have heard that the songs were released out-of-sequence!
    As you said…it’s like scrambling the chapters in a book. Ruins the story!

    I have a few concept albums (by KISS, Alice Cooper, Pink Floyd, et al). I don’t really like them…with one exception:

    Do you have “Operation : Mindcrime” by Queensrÿche?
    It’s a masterpiece! One of my favorite albums. When I listen to it, I always play it in it’s entirety.

  43. Sir Pent October 23, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    I don’t play it often either…but I think there are some really good songs on it. I also think there are a couple of unbelievably awful songs.

    I had Operation: Mindcrime on cassette back in the day. It is a really good album. They released a sequel to it this summer but I haven’t heard it. You?

  44. tokyo5 October 23, 2008 at 11:21 pm #

    I haven’t ever listened to Operation : Mindcrime II.
    As much as I like Operation : Mindcrime, I don’t think a sequel will be good!

    And, I don’t think The Elder has any really good songs. “Dark Light” is the best song on that album…and I usually prefer Gene’s songs.

  45. Sir Pent October 24, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    I actually have a saying about the album…I think it’s a good rock album, it’s not a good KISS album.

  46. tokyo5 October 25, 2008 at 1:34 am #

    Sir Pent…

    >I think it’s a good rock album

    That’s being generous, in my opinion.

    BTW, what’s your favorite five KISS albums (studio albums…not any of the Alive! or Greatest Hits albums.)

    Mine would be:

    Revenge
    Destroyer
    KISS 1
    Love Gun
    Rock And Roll Over

  47. Sir Pent October 25, 2008 at 6:08 am #

    Top 5 is so hard.
    Here is what I will do…top 5 original, top 5 after, top 5 overall:

    Original –
    KISS
    Hotter Than Hell
    Dressed To Kill
    Rock And Roll Over
    Love Gun

    After –
    Creatures Of The Night
    Lick It Up
    Crazy Nights
    Revenge
    Carnival Of Souls

    Overall –
    KISS
    Rock and Roll Over
    Creatures Of The Night
    Crazy Nights
    Carnival Of Souls

    These may seem to be weird choices…but I am trying to rate them as “overall albums”, talking into consideration style and consistency of music throughout.

    (I’ve tried to do this twice and keep getting bounced.
    OK.
    My choices are based on overall album: consistency of sound, consistency of songs, production, etc.

    KISS
    Rock And Roll Over
    Creatures Of The Night
    Lick It Up
    Carnival Of Souls)

  48. Sir Pent October 25, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    Also, Lizards From Afar on 2 more podcasts:

    the Voodoo Quota Show:

    http://www.clickcaster.com/vqs

    the Bugcast:

    [audio src="http://bugcast.thelovebug.org/media/bugcast-032-20081017.mp3" /]

    Really trying to get our stuff on something in Japan still.

  49. tokyo5 October 25, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Sir Pent…

    >Top 5 is so hard.
    Here is what I will do…top 5 original, top 5 after, top 5 overall

    Your “Top 5 Original” are the first five studio albums…You didn’t include their most popular album in the US—Destroyer. I’m surprised!

    >I’ve tried to do this twice and keep getting bounced.

    One of your comments had a few links…so I guess the program reckoned it was spam. The other one was in my spam folder as well. Not sure why.
    But I put them both on this post.

    Anyways…
    Have you ever heard that KISS’s most popular album is different in different countries?
    America liked “Destroyer” best…
    Japan liked “Dynasty” best…
    Australia liked “Unmasked” best (!)…
    England liked “Crazy Nights” best…
    Brazil liked “Creatures Of The Night” best…

  50. tokyo5 October 25, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    >Really trying to get our stuff on something in Japan still.

    As I said, I don’t listen to podcasts, so I don’t know much about them.

    But, Yahoo! Japan is the most used page by Japanese (Yahoo! Auctions is more popular than Ebay here and Yahoo! search engine is more popular than Google…) so I guess Yahoo! Podcast is probably the most popular source in Japan.

    (I did a search for 「ポッドキャスト」 and Yahoo! Podcast Japan was the top result.)
    It’s here:

    http://podcast.yahoo.co.jp/

    But…it’s all in Japanese, so I don’t think you’ll navigate the site too easily!

    I did a search for “Podcasts” in English too. And Podcast.com ( http://podcast.com/ ) was a top result.
    Have you tried that site?
    It’s not Japanese…but it’s in English (so it’d be easier for you).

  51. Sir Pent October 25, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    I think Destroyer has some great songs on it, but MY OPINION is that it’s a really uneven album. I just don’t think it flows well from beginning to end. To me it sounds more like when you listen to a “greatest hits”…you know, where the songs are usually all good but don’t necessarily mesh together.

    And thanks for the help with the podcast stuff…I wasn’t intimating that you should take any action on my behalf, just letting you know what was going on with my band and that Japan was one of my targets.

  52. tokyo5 October 26, 2008 at 12:22 am #

    I didn’t mind looking for a Japanese page for you.
    No problem.

  53. Sir Pent October 26, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Actually, I think the best beginning to end KISS album is either Creatures Of The Night or Lick It Up. The songs on those albums are all interesting in their own right, but there is a consistent style and energy in all of the songs.

    The album I think that truly captured the real KISS while still having great production value…Rock And Roll Over.

  54. tokyo5 October 26, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    To me the KISS albums that are full of great songs are “KISS 1″ and “Revenge”. All but one or two on each are excellent (they both have an instrumental…which I don’t like much).

    And…I didn’t include it on my list above, but “Hotter Than Hell” too!

  55. Sir Pent October 26, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    I really like Revenge (& was a very happy KISS fan when it came out), but because of the instrumental/drum-solo and horrible, horrible, horrible song I JUST WANNA…I can’t rate it as an overall, beginning to end consistent album.

    I don’t include KISS because they still hadn’t fully developed the “real” Kiss sound yet. That and the production is a little hinky on it. They were a lot closer to the Kiss sound on the second album, but the production seems even worse on the second one than the first. The third has probably the best production of the first three…but the songs (even as described in interviews) are sometimes rehashes, throw-aways and last-minutes.

    That’s why I usually go with CON or LIU for best album…the production on those was way ahead of their time, all the songs are pretty good and all the songs sound like they go together.

  56. tokyo5 October 26, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    I don’t have a technical ear like you…
    Kinda like the old expression…”I don’t know art. I just know what I like.” :)

  57. Sir Pent October 27, 2008 at 1:12 am #

    I have a tendency to over-analyze things, though.

  58. tokyo5 October 27, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    Not at all. It’s very interesting to me.

    Have you seen many KISS concerts? Or concerts, in general?

  59. Sir Pent October 27, 2008 at 2:31 am #

    I’ve been to 3 KISS concerts:
    Hot In The Shade (great, long concert…Eric Carr was on fire that night)
    Reunion (Great show, but Ace was obviously wasted)
    Psycho Circus in 3D (Ace was really sharp, Peter was not playing that great)

    This will be a partial list from off the top of my head…in as much order as I can:
    Charlie Rich
    Up With People
    Bobby Brown
    Def Leppard with LA Guns
    Cinderella/Winger/Bullet Boys
    Kiss (Hot in the shade)
    Rush
    Heart with Giant
    Damn Yankees
    Rush with Mr. Big
    Extreme with Saigon Kick
    Damn Yankees/Bad Company
    Tony Danza (yes…THAT Tony Danza)
    Kiss – reunion
    Third Eye Blind/Nina Gordon/Jayhawks
    BR-549
    Kiss – Psycho Circus
    Britney Spears
    Gwar
    Richard Cheese
    Iron Maiden

    …I’m sure I’m missing a couple and there have been non-national touring stuff that I have gone and seen.

  60. tokyo5 October 28, 2008 at 12:20 am #

    You’ve seen many concerts. Britney Spears!?!

    I haven’t been to so many concerts. Let me see if I can remember them all…

    In Florida:
    Joe Satriani (“Surfing With The Alien” Tour)
    KISS (“Crazy Nights” Tour)
    Hurricane (I can’t recall the tour name)…opening for:
    Loudness (“Lightning Strikes” Tour)
    Faster Pussycat…opening for:
    David Lee Roth (“Skyscraper” Tour)
    Tesla (“Mechanical Resonance” Tour)…opening for:
    Def Leppard (“Hysteria” Tour)
    Kix (“Blow My Fuse” Tour) / Great White (“…Twice Shy” Tour)…opening for:
    RATT (“Reach For The Sky” Tour)

    In Tokyo:
    Death Angel (“Act III” Tour)
    L.A. Guns (“Hollywood Vampires” Tour)
    Metallica (black album Tour)
    Guns ‘N Roses (“Use Your Illusion” Tour)
    KISS (“Reunion” Tour)
    Aerosmith (“Roar Of The Dragon” Japan Only Tour)
    Bon Jovi (“These Days” Tour)
    Union (I can’t recall the tour name)
    ESP (I can’t recall the tour name)
    KISS (“Farewell Tour”)…in Tokyo
    KISS (“Farewell Tour”)…in Yokohama (I thought it was their last tour—so I saw two shows)
    Judas Priest (“Reunion / Angel Of Retribution” Tour)
    KISS (“35 Years Anniversary of KISS’s First Show At The Budokan” Tokyo Only Tour)

    They may be a little out order…but pretty close, I think.
    KISS never brought the “Psycho Circus” Tour to Japan…how was it?
    KISS did an outdoor festival at near Mt. Fuji…I didn’t go—but I’ve never seen KISS outdoors!

  61. Sir Pent October 28, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    Britney Spears…it’s a long story and I saw it for free. Nothing creepier than being two thirty-something guys in the middle of thousands of screaming 13 year old girls…

    Satriani…on the surfing tour. Very nice. You have my jealousy.

    Union. I missed them when they came through Chicago. Then I got their live concert video…I love the music but they put on a pretty lame show. Now I don’t regret is as much.

    The Psycho Circus tour for me was a mixed bag.
    – The 3D thing was only effective about 1/2 the time it was on
    – It was mostly the reunion set-list with a few Psycho Circus tunes thrown in (PC, Within and Into The Void)
    – Ace was in good form and animated at this show…when I saw them for the reunion, Ace was obviously not all there that night.
    – Peter was NOT playing up to my expectation
    – the stage show (other than the 3D thing) was excellent
    – overall, everything seemed slow and bloated in comparison to the previous tour

  62. tokyo5 October 29, 2008 at 12:27 am #

    >The Psycho Circus tour for me was a mixed bag.

    I saw three KISS tours with make-up (and one without)…and they were all great to me!
    The “Reunion” Tour because, of course, seeing KISS with the original members back in make-up was every KISS fans’ dream!
    The “Farewell” Tour because I thought that was the last time I’d see them live.
    And the 35th Anniversary Of KISS’ First Budokan Show in Japan because they were in their Hotter Than Hell outfits and played a smaller stage (this concert was at the Budokan…the others were at the huge Tokyo Dome) and earlier songs—like in their early days.

  63. Brain Training October 29, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    It’s good to know the things that existed or should I say popular when you’re growing up. I was born on the year 1984 and I was in high school 0n 1997 and those were the days when computer updates is rising. I remember those times where boy bands sprouted, and CD’s are very expensive so I still have to buy cassette tapes. And mind you, I had my walkman. Titanic was the greatest movie I have seen during that time and How I was amazed with that movie. Funny but the only thing I recognize on the photo was Ozzy Osbourne and Gun’s n Roses, at least I know some.

  64. Sir Pent October 30, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    1984…you are making me feel old. I’m 1971.
    So when you were born I was already 13…1984:
    – I remember the ascendence of MTV (it had been around, but really seemed to take off)
    – Van Halen 1984
    – Knight Rider & The A-Team
    – Ghost Busters, Beverly Hills Cop, Temple Of Doom, Star Trek III (I can’t tell you how many times we went to the mall to watch these movies!)
    – KISS Animalize + Heaven’s On Fire…the song and album that brought me back to KISS (I stopped listening when Peter Criss left the band in 1980)

    http://reverbnation.com/lizardsfromafar

  65. tokyo5 October 30, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    Brain Trainingさん、

    Thanks for visiting my site. Please comment on any of my posts often!

    BTW, how did you find my site?

    >I was born on the year 1984

    I began high school in 1984!

    >I was in high school 0n 1997

    In 1997, I was 27 and my kids were 1, 2, and 4!

    >CD’s are very expensive (in 1997)

    What country do you live in? How much were CDs in 1997 there? How much do they cost now? (Do you still buy CDs?)

    >I had my walkman.

    I still use Sony Walkman® …only now it’s a MP3 Walkman!

    >the only thing I recognize on the photo was Ozzy Osbourne and Gun’s n Roses, at least I know some.

    You don’t know AC/DC, KISS, Judas Priest etc? You should check them out?
    What music do you like?

  66. tokyo5 October 31, 2008 at 12:09 am #

    Sir Pent…

    >-MTV (it had been around, but really seemed to take off)
    – Van Halen 1984
    – Knight Rider & The A-Team
    – Ghost Busters, Beverly Hills Cop, Temple Of Doom, Star Trek III (I can’t tell you how many times we went to the mall to watch these movies!)
    – KISS Animalize

    You’re talking about 1984? It was a great year for music!
    Motley Crue Shout At The Devil, Metallica Ride The Lightning, Iron Maiden Powerslave, Dio The Last In Line, Judas Priest Defenders Of The Faith, Twisted Sister Stay Hungry, Ratt Out Of The Cellar, Scorpions Love At First Sting…and as you said KISS Animalize!

    >I stopped listening when Peter Criss left the band in 1980

    Many people quit listening to KISS around that time. All of my friends thought I was weird for still listening to them!

  67. Sir Pent October 31, 2008 at 9:50 am #

    When I was 10, Peter Criss/ the Catman was my hero. I started playing drums because of him. I stopped listening to them for no other reason than Peter left the group. (Give me a break…I was 10.)
    When I heard Heaven’s On Fire…wow. It was also around the time I started hanging around with another friend that was KISS fan and he had all the albums I had missed. (Elder, Killers, Creatures, Lick It Up.) Then I found out that Animalize wasn’t even the best of what they had been doing! (Lick It Up a much better album-IMO.)
    As soon as I heard Lick It Up…I was back. Maybe that’s why I rate that album so high?

  68. tokyo5 October 31, 2008 at 11:04 pm #

    1984 was also the time that Gene Simmons was trying to break into Hollywood.
    Have you seen any of the movies he was in?

    I thought Runaway with him and Tom Selleck wasn’t too bad.

  69. Sir Pent November 1, 2008 at 3:23 am #

    Runaway is not bad. It’s cheesy as heck…and the special FX are gosh-awful, but it’s still a hoot to watch.

  70. tokyo5 November 1, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    Yeah, Runaway came out in ’84 and it was alright….but in 1987 he played a Middle-Eastern terrorist in Wanted: Dead Or Alive (Rutger Hauer was the hero). That was a better movie, I thought.

    Gene Simmons was never in a really big “hit movie”, though.

  71. Sir Pent November 1, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    W:DoA is a movie I haven’t seen since it came out on VHS. I consider it about the same level of good/cheesy as Runaway. It’s a good watch…not really a good movie.

  72. tokyo5 November 3, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    I haven’t seen either of those movies in years!

    BTW, you mentioned (in an earlier comment on my blog) that you have a wife.
    Do you have any kids?

  73. Sir Pent November 3, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    I have a 4 year old boy. He’s a hoot.
    He could care less about KISS…but I’m working on that.

  74. tokyo5 November 3, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    Four years old?! I remember that age!

    My daughters have never cared for KISS either. They don’t like any of my music! ;)

    They’re girls…so they like pop music. J-pop, in particular. (Do you know what “J-pop” is? Japanese Pop Music.)

  75. Mom November 4, 2008 at 1:41 am #

    ok, listening to the ongoing conversation makes me feel a bit ancient but I will go ahead and put my 2 cents in anyway. when I was a teen the Beatles came to the States and of course the rest is history-can you guess the year? before the Beatles, I loved Elvis, Ricky Nelson, later-Eric Clapton, Bruce Springfield (is that name right?).

    of course, later when I liked their music I also had teens who had music of their own and for a time, some of their music made me worry! I will admit that KISS was one of the major offenders. My son went absolutely wild for KISS and covered his bedrm walls in posters of them. The first day I saw all of those wild looking KISS creatures, I did freak out but I tried not to show it. also, we were going to a Christian Penetcostal church in the South and I remember hearing all kinds of bad things about how their music (and other rockers-who I don’t remember), was evil and if you let your kids listen to it they would be hearing some evil msg. from Satan!! and the msg. could be heard clearly if you played their music backward! since I could never figured out how to do that I never played it backward and always wondered if that was a real fear or someone just put it out there to scare Mothers. well, this is enough for me to say. I don’t want to embarrass anyone.

    Kids today are growing up too fast-you probably hear that all the time. but it is so true-at least here in the States. when I was in my early teen yrs all I thought about was riding my bike, playing ball, and hanging out with my girl friends but boys didn’t enter the picture,at least not seriously, until I was 16. but now that I am remembering, to be accurate, my first major “crush” on a boy was when I was 14. it was love, but it was a one way thing. no drugs, but smoking was a temptation! drugs came later when I was married with young children! can you imagine?

  76. tokyo5 November 4, 2008 at 2:14 am #

    Mom…

    >Bruce Springfield

    Do you mean “Bruce Springsteen” (Famous for the album Born In The USA)…or “Rick Springfield” (famous for the song Jesse’s Girl)? (I don’t recall you listening to either! :) )

    And I started listening to KISS when I was eight years old…not a teenager! ;)

    You’re my mother, so regarding your church’s anti-rock music campaign, your “first crush”, and drugs….no comment! ;)

  77. Mom November 4, 2008 at 4:22 am #

    Hey,

    I got confused or something. I remembered the songs, both of them and I do like both. probably more now than then. I first started listenng to Springsteen after I met David and was working for him. I must have thought Jess’s Girl was by the same person-not listening closely enough to get the name right. bad habit.

    are you sure about being 8 yrs old? you must have hid it from me or maybe I was in denial. but now that I am thinking about it, was that during the time that you were friends with Ernie, from the mobile home park? remember him? wonder what he is doing now, but his Mom was kind of a real regilious fanatic. and so was Marty, remember her? she was the Mother of Julie’s and Mb’s friends but I cann’t remember the kids names. I think they had a son too, Michael, who dropped out of high school with his mother’s blessings!
    anyway, I am getting way off the subject here,sorry.

  78. Sir Pent November 4, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Yeah, you never want to hear about your mom’s first crush. Never. REALLY never.

    My mother never seemed to freak out about my music. Mostly she would make fun of me for the kinds that I liked. I think she trusted that I was going to have a good head on my shoulders.

  79. tokyo5 November 4, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    Sir Pent…

    Yeah, that’s right!

    And I gave my mother plenty of reasons to worry when I was a kid! :)

  80. tokyo5 November 4, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Mom…

    Yes, I’m sure I was eight was I started listening to KISS.

    You gave me a few albums…starting with my first KISS album: “Alive II“.
    And when I was ten, your brother (my uncle) gave me “Dynasty” for X-mas.

  81. Sir Pent November 5, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    I must’ve been 8 with my first album as well. The first one I got was Dynasty when it first came out, which was 79.

  82. tokyo5 November 5, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    I got Dynasty the year it came out too (1979).
    My first KISS album was Alive II when it was new…in late 1977.

    Back then I also had old classic albums that my father and uncle gave me: Rolling Stones, Aerosmith “Toys In The Attic”, Cream, etc.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

